We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure”

Claytons and The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 140 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Gastropub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great classy service and good quality varied menu, very relaxed downstairs more formal upstairs.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cavemans_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    85
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, great restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've visited several times and service is good. Mussels were delicious and scallops were perfectly seared - not over cooked and tasted fresh. Good bar area - excellent cocktails menu and wine selection. Glass conservatory upstairs more formal, quite bright but nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I have been using this restaurant for a few years now and in all that time have never been disappointed. So much so that we had our Wedding party last year there. The food is easily the best in the area, the service is second to none and the staff are always friendly and cant do enough for you. The premises are always immaculate and the decor is tremendous. We travel a lot to different places as we have family in other areas but find that as an overall experience you cannot beat Claytons. I would highly recommend it to anyone, whether you wanted a nice quiet drink, a lovely meal, a place to meet your friends or even if you needed somewhere for that all important business meeting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

would eat here everyday if i could afford it! great survice and very friendly

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great tapas, very well priced and excellent service”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Amazing food every time me an my girlfriend go, always welcomed with a smile by the staff and let us put drinks on a tab. If only all the restaurants in the area were like this

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claytons and The Glasshouse also viewed

 

Been to Claytons and The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing