We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
276
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
276
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home made cakes family suite town centre fresh milk large garden large shower short corridor slice of homemade cake free standing bath each afternoon huge room delicious home b bs excellent hosts quiet street excellent breakfast single room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018

I often struggle to understand why B&Bs get away with charging the same or more than hotels when the quality is sometimes poorer and there are fewer facilities. In my view, to compete with the likes of Premier Inns (which are fine and usually good value) B&Bs should offer something hotels cannot. The Old Vicarage does this and does so very well – high quality personally (not corporately) designed rooms with impressive attention to detail (even the notices are in nice frames); and personal touches like tissues, cotton wool, ‘proper’ soap/shampoo/shower gel (not minuscule, unopenable sachets or wall-mounted dispensers), soft and fluffy towels (how do they do this?); good tea/coffee with fresh milk, home-baked cakes etc as well as good quality breakfasts with locally sourced produce. And even a rubber thing for putting down hair straighteners (I had to ask and never would have guessed!). Sadly the few fabulous B&Bs I have stayed in never seem to be located in places I would normally visit but the Old Vicarage is definitely on my ‘I hope I have a reason stay there again' list.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RebeccaM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi_and_Bryan, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you Rebecca; hopefully you can find a reason to come back to North Devon: It could be to visit RHS Rosemoor or Marwood Hill, both great gardens but very different to each other. Or maybe to see Clovelly, Hartland Abbey or Arlington Court, all with their historic buildings and scenic settings. If being active is your thing it could be to hire bikes to ride on the traffic free (and absolutely flat) Tarka Trail, a walk around Baggy Point on the South West Coast Path, a to visit to the Tarr Steps on Exmoor, golf on one of our two ancient links courses or surfing on one of the many beaches. Or it could be to have a ride on a steam train on the old Barnstaple to Lynton railway at Woody Bay, or the water powered funicular cliff railway at Lynmouth. Or just to visit family again. Whatever may bring you here it would be nice to see you both again and you could experience one of or other rooms too. All the best for wherever you go to next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

The Old Vicarage is genuinely the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Sandi and Bryan have thought through every detail and as a result, you’re able to relax completely.

The bed in our room was so comfortable and the room itself was delightful, overlooking the garden. The bathroom was immaculate and spacious.

Breakfast was perfectly cooked and a good range of cereals, teas, preserves was offered. The best part of breakfast was the delicious eggs from the chickens at the bottom of the garden.

At the end of a day walking the SWCP, a piece of Sandi’s lemon drizzle cake and a cuppa was much appreciated.

Thank you both for doing such a great job!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lucyj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi_and_Bryan, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

You’re most welcome Lucy; it was nice to see you and Steve again. Thanks for such a kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Thanks Bryan and Sandi, a very enjoyable stay, lovely room, beautiful garden and a very yummy breakfast,Barnstaple is a very nice town , nice shops, good food and friendly people hopefully see you all again. cheers

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Romblondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi_and_Bryan, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

It was great to meet you and it would be nice if you stay again as we’d like to hear more about your time in Clovelly. Thanks for your kind review, hopefully the post has now arrived with the item you left in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Have just returned from another stay here. As always, everything was of a high standard and nothing was too much trouble for Brain & Sandi. The purpose of our visit was for cycling/walking and Brian was very helpful sorting out routes for us to try new places. Recommend a trip to Westward Ho! and Appledore. Can’t wait to return ASAP.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi_and_Bryan, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thanks, it was lovely to see you and Alison again Viv, and to hear about your adventures, especially collecting the bikes from Westward Ho!! (it’s not often one can use 2 exclamation marks together). We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Old Vicarage. From our arrival we felt welcomed and Sandi and Bryan were always available to help without being at all overbearing. We were travelling with our two young daughters so had a family suite. The room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very spacious. Our children slept really well and the separate room was perfect for after bedtime. We loved the homemade cake each day, particularly the cherry cake!
Breakfast was always hot and tasty and there was a very good selection of cereals and fresh fruit. The yoghurt was delicious too. If I could make a suggestion it would be to perhaps offer a continental type breakfast option such as a croissant in place of a full English.
The only other suggestion is regarding the blinds in the room with the large bed. They let in a lot of light hence my husband and I were awake with the sun each day, around 5.40am. We were grateful that there was a more effective blind in the children’s bedroom so they did not wake so early :-)
We would highly recommend this B and B; North Devon has lots to offer for families and we particularly enjoyed Exmoor Zoo and Watermouth Castle. Thank you for a wonderful week; I am sure that the girls will be talking fondly about their visit to ‘Sandi’s house’ for lots of time to come.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bubble_fairy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi_and_Bryan, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thanks for the review it was lovely having you all stay and introducing the girls to the chickens. We also appreciate the suggestions (always best to ask when you are here, as we would have been happy to get some croissants etc in for you); we have tried a more continental breakfast in the past, but there was little uptake. The blinds will be a winter job as we do all the little tasks which need keeping up with. All the best for your next trip away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews