We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Vicarage
Nearby Hotels
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
$67
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
238
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesfamily suitelarge gardenfresh milk in a flasktown centregenerous hospitalitygreat hostslarge showeron arrivalbreakfast was deliciousquiet locationcake waitingshower roomroom numberan absolute gemmemorable staycan't praise
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 243 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked the double room for ourselves (Rm 1), the family suite for use by 3 adults (Rm 6) and the twin room with single occupancy for my sister (Rm 3) for 2 nights over the August Bank Holiday. My neice was getting married on the Saturday and requested that she got dressed at The Old Vicarage, having seen photos on the website. Sandi & Bryan made us all feel welcome in a friendly but very professional way. The rooms were larger than usually found in a hotel or B & B, with many thoughtful personal touches to the decor made by the owners. A very good breakfast, including a full English cooked to perfection, homemade flapjacks and shortbread biscuits in the afternoon an added bonus. Everything was above expectation and it is obvious a lot of thought and effort has gone into the needs of guests. I would certainly stay here again, and have no hesitation in recommending this to friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms were clean, light and spacious, and our double room had a lovely view of the beautiful garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed over on the night before my wedding and found a haven at the Old Vicarage. Its a beautiful building, very nicely decorated and the owner was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Rooms are spacious and the food is excellent, using local produce wherever possible. It is in the centre of Barnstaple but, as other reviewers have mentioned, feels very secluded and private. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redgos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend. As a single traveller it is absolutely fantastic to be given a room that is a normal size......usually we are the group that are stuck in the room just slightly bigger than the single bed. Not so here, as a twin it was a spacious room with really tasteful decor. The ensuite was the largest I have come across in a B&B, with a full bath!! The breakfast room was gorgeous, with lovely views of the garden. The breakfasts were fabulous and a real treat. Every day I received an afternoon tea 'goodie' (which was always delicious) This place has to be one of the cleanest bed and breakfasts I have stayed in... the hotel inspectors (Ruth and Alex) would be totally unable to fault The Old Vicarage. I totally recommend it and it should be a 4 star/rosette rated establishment. It is easy to access the town (less than 10mins walk) and the river is less than 2 mins with a lovely park and walking. Off road parking...this place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotravelller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Old Vicarage is in an idyllic setting unbelievably close to the centre of Barnstaple. Its walled gardens conjure up a feeling of complete detachment from the town. Our room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished. A true comfort zone. Breakfast was efficient and very accommodating for tastes and diets. Sandi and Bryan are extremely helpful and (overhearing conversations they had with other guests), do everything they can to help them explore the North Devon area. Being quite new owners of the property they have a lot on their plate, but talking of plates I have one suggestion - that they try a Sunday evening communal dinner, like the old guest house days (even with a gong to summon!). It could be fun, especially as Barnstaple's restaurants seem to evaporate that night - apart from the amazing Gurkha restaurant in Market Street. Definitely one of the top B&B's we've experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was astounded at the quality and size of my room(s) which was booked as a single, but consisted of two double bedrooms and a smaller but very functional clean bathroom. Lovely view from my windows over the garden in the grounds where this building is located. A mile or so from the railway station, but only 5 minutes walk to the centre of town. It is situated in a very quiet respectful area. The hosts happy to help in any way and the breakfast is served in another lovely room on the ground floor. Quality of the breakfast, one of the best I experienced whilst travelling in England on this occasion.

Room Tip: I think there are only 4 or 5 rooms in this property, and they would all have similar outlooks as far as I can tell, so it would't matter which one you were offered.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews