We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in UK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fullam Chinese Restaurant

Fullam Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 137 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burntwood, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here 6 September 2013, we were on holiday and having read other reviews decided to visit. There were three of us, we hadn't booked but arrived reasonably early (19.00) hoping to get a table, which we did. It seemed to be quite a busy evening with most tables occupied, including a large party of fairly young people.

We eat Chinese food regularly and know from experience that quality varies, have to agree that this is one of the best, not just for Barnstaple but pretty much anywhere in the UK.

It was our first visit and being unfamiliar with the menu we decided to opt for a set-menu, especially as one offered Chef's choice for the main course - we have no problem in eating anything presented, but appreciated the balanced selection this afforded. We had soup followed by mixed starters, and then crispy duck. The main course consisted of the freshest seabass ever, king-prawns on a hot plate, and slow cooked pork ribs. The ribs deserve special mention they appear on the seasonal specials menu, and comprised a joint of uncut ribs still retaining the outer flesh - a very substantial portion of meat, slowly cooked until unbelieveably tender, and covered with an excellent sauce.

Rice was attractively presented, wrapped in a banana leaf parcel inside a bamboo steamer.

It was a perfect evening, the restaurant is very stylish and extremely comfortable. Tables are large and well spaced out. We were welcomed by very pleasant staff, everyone was impecably attired and friendly.

Looking forward to our next visit to Devon, Fullam will be on top of our list for must do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    85
    27
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I don`t particulary like chinese food (specially take aways) but this is the best chinese restaurant in Barnstaple .....and perfect in everything.Amazing!Well presented,high quality and perfectly cooked
meals...very very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The wife and I frequently go to The Fullam. The food is absolutely divine, the atmosphere and decor is fantastic and the service is always prompt and polite! We almost always get served our food within 5-15 minutes of placing our order!

We manage to get more food than we can handle and 2 coca-cola's for around £30 for both of us so the price is good too!

if you're coming to Barnstaple then The Fullam is definitely the place to go out for dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCarts265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Been here many a time and never had a problem.
Everytime the staff are amazing and cater to your every need!! There can be a wait sometimes but you expext that when they are busy. Love it everytime and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loopes45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband joined a party of friends to eat on Tuesday .. Lovely food and lovely people thank you. We would recommend the Fullam! We will be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueTalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fullam Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fullam Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing