We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant pub with great home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chichester Arms

Chichester Arms
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasant pub with great home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This pub has a lovely atmosphere and the staff were pleasant and helpful. We had some lunch whilst we were there and the portion was very generous and the food seemed to be all home cooked and was lovely, great value. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    67
    24
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not for us.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

When on holiday in self catering accommodation we like to find a pub we can walk to on the first night so we check it out so we can use it through the week. So when we read the reviews for the Chichester Arms we thought we had made a good choice of accommodation.

So we enter the bar and say hello and get blanked by a sullen young lady behind the bar ignored by the woman sat at the bar and tapping her mobile phone. Ordered the drinks but got virtually no eye contact and no conversation. As we were eating with the rest of the family in the evening we asked if they did bar snacks, this unleashed a short sharp "we don't do bar snacks, we do light bites" I would normally walk out after finishing the drinks and find somewhere else who wants our business but it was after 2pm and the drive down was a nightmare. The food was good but when delivered it was just put down on the table with no enjoy your meal or even a glimmer of personality.

It was not just us as when my son arrived with the grand daughter he got the same welcoming and the same "we don't do bar snacks, we do light bites". He sat down with the menu and gathered the order, his daughter wanted chicken and chips. They don't do chicken and chips, even though chicken is available in other options so ham and chips were ordered as they would not put themselves out to serve what the customers want.

Whilst sat there other people came in and were told "we don't do bar snacks, we have light bites".

Needless to say we never went back there again. We would have gone back there a couple of times for meals with wine and beers.

Poor attitude, poor service and no concept of giving the customer what they want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went for an evening meal with my husband, and we had a fantastic evening. The staff were very attentive and the food and atmosphere was excellent. We will definitely be going there again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyde N.Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Today I took my wife and a friend for lunch.I had plaice and chips;my wife had cod and chips and my friend had steak pie; all delightful meals. Our only problem was that the bar lady made two attempts to give the right change and still failed even at the second go ; surely £40.41 from £45.00 cannot be that difficult ! Will certainly go there again but will make sure that I check my change !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGPCroydeN_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Chich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely meal, lovely atmosphere. Pub has improved dramatically since I last visited a few months ago with previous manager. Staff service is now fantastic, food came out fast and was delicious with large portions. Would definitely recommend and will start going more often again now the management has changed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gc1141996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichester Arms also viewed

 
 

Been to Chichester Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing