We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food except the peas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chichester Arms

Chichester Arms
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food except the peas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lovely food, good portions. Had lambs liver which was surprisingly good and not over cooked. Have also had the steaks with all the trimmings, really yummy. Only grumble the peas that came with the liver had a heavy dose of bicarb in them and could not eat. A real shame because the rest is really good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    67
    24
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

A group of us went for a meal friday night and we were not disapointed! Fantastic selection of specials and good ale on tap. Despite a large party out the back, our food arrived in good time and was tasty and well presented, the venison with port and stliton sauce was simply divine! Desserts were also good, esp the baileys bread and butter pudding, heaven! All in all a superb meal in a lovely old pub with a friendly warming atmosphere, will certainly be back and recomending to all our friends. Many thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dubmatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeth, Okehampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Homemade Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lovely pub with pleasant staff and ambience. Food was home made and portions were generous for the price. The pub is beautiful inside, where obvious care has been taken to make the place clean, warm and welcoming. Would definitely go back....
One little quibble....clean the salt and pepper pots!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch with friends here and it was very good indeed. Great ambiance, exactly what you expect from a proper English pub! Good selection of ales. Lots of choices on offer between the regular menu and the specials board, and all fairly priced and well prepared. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. The service was friendly. I would definitely return again

Helpful?
1 Thank jollyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We come here yearly for a netball do, and i have been twice now. The staff are friendly and service very good. The food is lovely and just what you excpect from pub grub. Warm, hearty and filling! Staff did seem slightly stressed with 25 of us, but i probably would too! Pudding of chocolate cake was scrummy. Only negative was the galir mushrroms were WAY too garlicy for my tastes and a few of us who had them. The chunks on the garlic bread was just too much. Amazing value for money, 3 courses, £13 !!! Overrall though very accomadating and brave to cater to a rowdy bunch of netballers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichester Arms also viewed

 
 
Muddiford, Barnstaple
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Chichester Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing