We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day Out!”
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Legacy award ,Best Family Business 2017, Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

An amazing day out. Good value and super well mannered and informative staff. The Zoo is a great day out, my daughter and I enjoyed every minute of our visit today. The animals all look in great health and are obviously well looked after. Having visited over numerous years, its lovely to see all the huge improvements new animals and enclosures being introduced and built. The cafe has very tasty food and drinks are also to a high standard. Worth every penny, Dont forget the Gift shop that has something for everyone. WELL DONE!


Dawn and Chantelle (Barnstaple)

2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Good value, informed staff, tasty food, healthy animals - thank you! Glad you visit regularly and look forward to the improvements. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 788 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

excellent zoo spent all day there literally,loads of animals including possibly the exmoor beast.as well as cheetahs and various others.

2  Thank amartin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Two of the cheetahs are new to the zoo and the talk and feeding session is always interesting and a little different as the new girls get used to the old male cheetah (Dave)! Harmony at the moment which probably means no cheetah kittens but at least they are cohabiting! Yes lots of animals, but you need to find them - it is after all their homes you are looking into! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with our 8 year old. Fabulous variety of animals. We loved the big cats which we managed to see up close during feeding time. My son also enjoyed the talk and handling session with a pole cat, armadillo, meerkat, rabbits and guinea pigs. We particularly liked the way that picnic tables were set out at different viewing points all around as well as a covered area near the children's play area. Something for all here.

1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Children love the playground here but hey need to be seen. So we have tried to ensure that if their guardians sit down they have some options in or out of the sun where they can see them! "Furries" at 1430 hours each day in the summer is also an excellent contact session - where else could you get a chance to meet that combination again? Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a lovely afternoon at the zoo. It was very clean and despite it being quite small, there was plenty to see. The staff are very knowledgeable and approachable and can tell you the animal's history and their names!

There are feeding sessions detailed in the brochure which you are given when you arrive. I would recommend going to these sessions as the staff give a talk about each animal whilst they're being fed, the talk is informative and fun (especially the penguins). You also have the opportunity to see and hold creepy crawlies!

The food was also good value, with good portion sizes - both adults and the children's meals.

Overall a great afternoon out.

2  Thank Jo3772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Glad you enjoyed yourself! We like the food here so it is good to hear that our visitors do as well! Some of the baguettes in the summer are awesome and the panini's always go down a treat on colder days!
All the talks are and handling sessions are often done by different keepers depending on the day and we all enjoy "show casing" the animals we help look after and maintain. Visit again next year and have a look at some of the changes we are doing now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Good hands on experience for all the family.
Lots to see and do and the keepers were knowledgeable.
Handled snakes and creepy crawleys. Said hello to some small furry animals.
Nice park and having renovations done for more enclosures.
Only disappointment was some of the viewing glass was difficult to take pictures through as cloudy plastic/glass.
Some enclosures were a bit small for the animals but generally clean and well managed.
Kids enjoyed it and all the animals looked healthy which was my usual concern when visiting zoo's.

Thank 112jacquiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. The smaller enclosures usually have animals that for whatever reason are content and happy to be there - this is quite carefully considered and if circumstances change then they are relocated either within the grounds or at another zoo!
Hopefully in time we will be able to replace the few acrylic windows with special glass and any of our double glazed windows that have dis-colored since installation. It all takes time and money and we do get there - we aim to improve every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing