We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day out”
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Legacy award ,Best Family Business 2017, Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with our 8 year old. Fabulous variety of animals. We loved the big cats which we managed to see up close during feeding time. My son also enjoyed the talk and handling session with a pole cat, armadillo, meerkat, rabbits and guinea pigs. We particularly liked the way that picnic tables were set out at different viewing points all around as well as a covered area near the children's play area. Something for all here.

1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Children love the playground here but hey need to be seen. So we have tried to ensure that if their guardians sit down they have some options in or out of the sun where they can see them! "Furries" at 1430 hours each day in the summer is also an excellent contact session - where else could you get a chance to meet that combination again? Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 791 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a lovely afternoon at the zoo. It was very clean and despite it being quite small, there was plenty to see. The staff are very knowledgeable and approachable and can tell you the animal's history and their names!

There are feeding sessions detailed in the brochure which you are given when you arrive. I would recommend going to these sessions as the staff give a talk about each animal whilst they're being fed, the talk is informative and fun (especially the penguins). You also have the opportunity to see and hold creepy crawlies!

The food was also good value, with good portion sizes - both adults and the children's meals.

Overall a great afternoon out.

2  Thank Jo3772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Glad you enjoyed yourself! We like the food here so it is good to hear that our visitors do as well! Some of the baguettes in the summer are awesome and the panini's always go down a treat on colder days!
All the talks are and handling sessions are often done by different keepers depending on the day and we all enjoy "show casing" the animals we help look after and maintain. Visit again next year and have a look at some of the changes we are doing now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Good hands on experience for all the family.
Lots to see and do and the keepers were knowledgeable.
Handled snakes and creepy crawleys. Said hello to some small furry animals.
Nice park and having renovations done for more enclosures.
Only disappointment was some of the viewing glass was difficult to take pictures through as cloudy plastic/glass.
Some enclosures were a bit small for the animals but generally clean and well managed.
Kids enjoyed it and all the animals looked healthy which was my usual concern when visiting zoo's.

Thank 112jacquiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. The smaller enclosures usually have animals that for whatever reason are content and happy to be there - this is quite carefully considered and if circumstances change then they are relocated either within the grounds or at another zoo!
Hopefully in time we will be able to replace the few acrylic windows with special glass and any of our double glazed windows that have dis-colored since installation. It all takes time and money and we do get there - we aim to improve every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Not the biggest zoo but makes up for it with some beautiful animals, hands on experiences and pleasant staff. A lovely leafy and green environment makes for a relaxing and generally enjoyable day out.

Thank calcot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Great, thank you for seeing all the positive side of everything we do! We do care and it is good to know that the enjoyed what we try hard to offer - the jungle like natural setting, the hands on experiences and our friendly staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

we arrived and the parking was terrible people had parked all over the place, no bay marking ,really hard to get out and go into the next parking up the road .a sign to say it was full would be handy .
the disable toilet had no lock on it and was in a corridor near to an exhibit ,they could have put a temporary bolt in it was a week day and a hardware store would have been open or must have a spare one in the handy mans store ,i told a member of staff in reception ,she replied i know ,i will tell my manager ,no time like the present and act now !!!!!!!!!
i had a coffee and sandwiches ,the coffee tasted burnt so i asked if could swap for a cup of tea ,i asked how much a tea was and my reply was ,i have already swapped it for a cup of tea i can't give you a refund ,i did not ask for one i was just checking there wasn't a large price difference ,i said don't worry .not very customer friendly . the exhibits were ok ,bit clinical the monkey enclosures for the inside ,nothing to play with on the inside enclosures ,just a couple of branches.
considering limas a very endangered i would of hoped that they would have more space for them to roam around . i shall not be returning .very disappointed.p.s a rosta to check the only 2 toilets would be good as the ladies were awful ,the place seems not cared for enough .

1  Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoorbeast, Owner at Exmoor Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

We responded to this persons questionnaire left on the premises that day and a temporary lock was put on the disabled toilet that night. Our fault for which we apologize - we were researching a special disabled lock that can be over-ridden by us from outside the toilet (for obvious reasons) as it is a solid full entry door.
As for all the other negative comments in the review you will have to visit and see if they are right? Once you have paid your admission you are entitled to your opinion - it just seems that once we do not let the odd customer have there own way they respond by reviewing negatively.
This is something we are learning to accept and as we do not solicit reviews we understand this will become more frequent during our busy school holiday summer weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exmoor Zoo also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing