We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but very well formed!”
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small but very well formed!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really loved this attraction. Having been to Paignton Zoo 2 years ago I wasn't really sure what to expect. It is much smaller but I liked it all the more for that. You feel a lot closer to the animals and it just feels a much cosier, friendlier experience.
Entrance price was reasonable at £40 for three adults and a 6 year old. Our two year old went free.
The zoo is really buggy friendly which was great and has loads of little viewing platforms and huts (which proved very useful in sheltering from the rain!). I noticed that there were also loads of little picnic tables dotted around the paths.
The animals were all easy to spot and look at...except the chameleon unsurprisingly! I gave up looking after 10 minutes! The pumas and cheetah were really impressive and the kids loved the (slightly sinister looking) sand cats.
The weather was absolutely shocking (not the zoo's fault) and we still really enjoyed it. Had the weather been better we'd have spent much longer than we did and made more of the kids play area which looked great, but the rain prevailed!
We all thought this zoo was fab. It's not as big and flash as Paignton but has a great charm and feel so I would recommend it.
My only gripe...being a huge fan of the gift shop, I thought it could have been bigger and more exciting. Overall great attraction though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lowey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    279
    51
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited on the Bank Holiday weekend with a 10 year-old in tow and had a fantastic time. The keepers are very friendly, approachable and keen to answer any questions about the animals. The interactive sessions are the best I've seen - possibly partly because the crowds aren't as big as in other zoos which means it's so much more personal. It is really good value for money - we stayed right till the end of the day and the Small Child was engaged for all of it. The only downside was the location of the toilets, which are all back at the top of the site. I appreciate it's difficult to run waste pipes to other parts of the site, but so is running from one end of the zoo to the other with a child who is suddenly desperate!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank B_Randall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Being in a wheelchair, we thought it might be difficult getting around Exmoor Zoo, but the slopes weren't too bad and there were plenty of rest places and viewing points. Very informative talks from knowlegeable keepers made the day more interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic day out!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited the zoo whilst on holiday in Woolacombe. We had a fantastic time and you definitely get good value for money. Make sure you go to all the talks about the animals, it's makes it all the more worth while.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cl4irethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited the zoo while on a holiday in Woolacombe and despite the rain all day, we had a brilliant experience at the Exmoor Zoo. There were some amazing animals to see and we were told when some would be fed and when there would be animals in the interaction area. We ate in the cafe, and I had 2 large sausage rolls and didn't think the price was bad at all, so can't really understand why others thought they were small (unless that person is a giant). The staff were very friendly and they told us about other things the zoo has to offer, such as a photography experience and a closer encounter with certain animals. We are looking at visiting the zoo again, hopefully when the weather is a bit better so the animals don't mind being outside as much. Great day had nonetheless.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing