We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a recent visit to Ilfracombe, the range of animals is extremely good, very reasonably priced compared to major zoos, all the animals (and there were many) seemed very well looked after. Would definitely visit again if we were in the area, and would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smootherjuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    279
    51
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A zoo with a personal touch”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great zoo where u feel they really care about the animals they have there. Lots to see and do all day, talks were great but interactive sessions were better where you could stroke and hold various animals, my daughter loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Small, compact and interesting with really friendly staff ( and parrots!).”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We've been visiting this zoo for the last 15 years and it gets better every time. Lovely spot atop Exmoor, with a fantastic range of animal, plenty of interaction available to experience through the day.
The staff are very approachable and friendly.
More developments to come by the look of things.
My only ( very small gripe) is the price of food in the cafe- verging on very expensive for a family, but of course you can always enjoy a picnic!
Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting zoo visit”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took my sons aged 16 and 13 and my 10 year old niece to this zoo, as the reviews suggested it was one of the best attractions to visit during our stay in North Devon. It was freezing cold over Easter, and there was even a bit of snow, so probably not the best time to visit, but not a lot we could do about that. The zoo itself is lovely. The animals looked cared for and had plenty of living space in their enclosures. We enjoyed the very informative talks, fed wallabies, handled snakes and watched the Exmoor Beast crunch on a dead rabbit (something you may want to avoid if you're squeamish). What I personally enjoyed was coming across new species to me, animals I hadn't even seen on nature programmes, like the Singing Dogs, Sand Cats and Maned Wolves. The info plaques were an interesting read too. Definitely worth a visit, but try and do it when the weather is warm!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing - a must visit attraction”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I visited Exmoor Zoo during out stay in Devon in April 2013.

The entry price was very reasonable (£10.95 each) and there was such a wide range of different animals to see, which could all be seen easily as the enclosures seem well maintained and very clean for the animals but designed in a way in which visitors can see them. I have found at other zoos enclosures seem un cared for and very overgrown. There was information provided about all the different animals next to their enclosures which was easy to understand and interesting. It is obvious a lot of thought has gone into the design of the zoo layout and enclosures to ensure that it is easy to travel around and also provides the tourist with ways to best see the animals, for example by walking up onto raised platforms.

The zoo may look small from the outside but don't be fooled there is a large area for you to walk around, my partner and I spent 3 hours here happily looking at the animals and learning something new at every enclosure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank podge198690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing