We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A zoo in the heart of Devon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exmoor Zoo

Exmoor Zoo
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the Gold award for best attraction in the South-west 2012, Exmoor Zoo has become an ideal family day out. The zoo has established a good rapport with the North Devon community and offers a very hand on experience for all its visitors.Activities run throughout the day (every half hour in summer), you get to meet a bird eating spider, hold a snake, feed wallabies (under supervision), meet some of the zoos friendly furry animals and of course go to all the talks and feeding sessions (if you can)!Home to the “Exmoor Beast” (a pair of black leopards), Puma, Cheetah, Maned wolves, monkeys and lots of other unusual animals like Tamandua, Fishing cats, Tapir, Singing dogs and Binturong to just name a few! The zoo is a living place with changes all the time; no visit is ever quite the same.Useful information:• Disabled access (wheelchair provision and scooter hire)• Activities through out the day• Cafeteria• Children’s playground• Undercover picnic areas• Zoo trail.
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A zoo in the heart of Devon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We've visited every year for the last 12 years and it never fails to please . Lovely setting, a fantastic selection of animals, all well cared for and displayed.
The staff make the place extra special.

Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    270
    49
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went with my partner, was a great little zoo! Animals seemed happy and so did all of the guests :-) Friendly staff and a nice cafe!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank macomateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited Exmoor Zoo for a Pre booked Lemur Experience.
The zoo itself is well laid out, and all of the animals seemed to be quite active.
The purpose of our trip was really for the Lemur Experience.
Once we had met the curator of the zoo for the Health & Safety talk, we were then introduced to Tina, who then took us to the Kitchen to prepare lunch\tea for the Ring Tailed Lemurs.
The Ring Tails were a bit lethargic but soon came round once they were being fed grapes.
Lots of information was given about the habitat and life of the Lemur in Madagascar.
We then visited the Black & White Ruffed Lemurs, these are real cuties!
They were very interested in being fed Banana and very friendly!!
Lots of information was given and it was very interesting to have a Lemur sat on your shoulder!
The 'Experiences' are well worth it!
Thanks Exmoor, it was great fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Damp day at the zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited the zoo whilst staying at Woolacombe, and had no choice but to go in bad weather, The staff were friendly and helpful, there were talks from the keepers and we saw the animals being fed, our kids loved it too, we will be returning when we come back next summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly staff - brilliant day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went to Exmoor Zoo on a beautiful hot day in June. It is not the biggest zoo in the country but it is definately the best zoo I have ever been to. The staff that do the talks are so funny, knowledgable and friendly they made the day. You can hold spiders and snakes, not that I did but my family did and loved the experience. If you are in the area go, you won't regret it, brilliant day out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exmoor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing