We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having been a regular visitors to the Ship in the past, we booked a table for Sunday Lunch for the first time since the change of management and chefs. My wife had the steak and ale pudding which was quite tasty. I had the pork chop with bubble & squeak, it looked good but was bland and tasteless. The worst feature was the pathetic service, pleasant but inefficient. We had to wait 35 minutes between ordering and being served. It was a disappointing experience and I will think twice before visiting again particularly since the food was over-priced compared with both the quality and quantity.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    40
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Try it for yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We thought we would try out the new management and their food. In the past the Ship has offered quantity, but poor quality and very little hospitality, so we had stopped going. We were a party of four and ordered different things, all of us were completely satisfied with our meals which were tasty and well presented and certainly not expensive for the quality we received. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, and the atmosphere was really good. Some of the men have large appetites and they were very happy with the portion size. It's a shame that the deservedly poor reviews under the previous management pull the overall rating down for the Ship. Maybe Trip Advisor should start again when new Management is in place, to allow the reviews to find their proper level for the pub as it is now.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Miserable Portions - Not In A Hurry To Return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Decided to take my wife and youngest out for lunch Thursday 30th January , thought i'd give the new Landlord's rumored new chef a try out. How disappointed i was and won't be returning in a hurry.
We ordered soup of the day for our youngest, very nice soup, however the pretentious mini shreddies lookalike bread thing she was given was laughable, this.(have no name for it) was beyond chewable, i had problems tearing it with my jaw never mind a child, hence that was not eaten. "Chef, just supply a warm bun with fresh butter, it's not rocket science"

We ordered the home made Kiev's, what appeared was, over done dried out chicken breast, pathetic and miserable portions of vegetables, they were served on huge pretentious fancy bowls which took over the table, the center of the bowl was tiny, the waitress was faultless and to my disbelief of such small portion of food, i asked "Is that it", an extra portion of vegetables was supplied, not sure if there was a cost as i have lost my receipt, however this is Barrow in Furness and not a pretending 3 star Michelin London based Restaurant, we like quality food as well as quantity.

My opinion is, the quality was not there nor was the quantity unlike the previous well known proprietor who left in November 2013.

Sam. Dalton in Furness.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal - great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We regularly go the Ship Inn for a drink or to eat in and last Saturday we decided to drop by, hoping to get a table for 4 people. The manageress welcomed us and managed to find us a table - even thought the restaurant seemed full. All our starters were delicious, especially my scallops and my sister's home-made Scotch Egg with coleslaw - Inspired! The chef even made me a "Gluten -Free " Fish and Chips. The fish was very fresh and tasty. The home-made Steak Pudding was a triumph. The place was full of satisfied diners! The waitresses were very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend the Ship Inn to any discerning diners.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little confused”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Meal with family. Booked previous day. Arrived and was asked when we booked. Appeared as though we were not in the diary. Given table and ordered meal.. three roast meals and a burger.
Meals came and my wife and I commented no roast or mashed potatoes. Ate meal very tasty. When waitress collected empty plates we commented on no potatoes. Told should have been roasties..but was none on any of our three meals. She went to tell the chef who offered us them . Bit stupid when we all finished. Saw manager who apolgised and offered refund of the roasties.
We settled for discounted sweets instead
Overall appeared to be dis organised with too few staff behind bar as there was quite a large collection of empty glasses waiting to be washed. But the meal was very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Kitfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing