We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything good apart from the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Everything good apart from the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Fairway over the Easter weekend...... the Hotel is very comfortable, clean and resonably warm.. although the heeating goes off at night.
It is a little out of the way but that is fine if you like peace and quiet.
The staff are very friendly but a little slow in serving at meal times but thats no big issue.
The food is rather non descript...... hard to describe but it looks like the chef ????? has made an attempt to cook something exotic but has not reaaly made the grade.
Maybe he/she should stick to good old english cooking instead of trying to be clever with food.... it just has not worked ... SORRY !!!
But overall the Hotel is very good but not one I would hastely recomend.

Room Tip: If you loike looking round a town Barrow in Furness is about four miles away. There is a rubbish t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to review the hotel, and I am now in the process of responding to all the reviews which is why you haven't had a response before.

I was pleased to hear you found the hotel itself clean and comfortable. I was disappointed to read your comments about the food. We are gradually gaining a reputation for serving outstanding food cooked by a chef who has worked within some of the top restaurants around the country, The food we serve at the hotel is all freshly made, home cooked food. Maybe the dish you ordered was just not to your liking and not a reflection on the chefs abilities.

We always try to exceed our guests expectations and are disappointed we did not manage this when you stayed.

Kind regards

Suzanne Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
23
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are large and well furnished. Our bathroom was very nice and the shower was great, really powerful. The beds are comfy. We looked out over the sheep and hills. We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding and had a great time. The wedding went really well and the hotel looked after everybody . The food was exceptionally good! I couldn't believe that they could provide such good food for so many people. Thanks for a great time! Just one tip - the hotel is fairly difficult to find. Don't use the post code in the sat nav as it takes you the wrong way. I would suggest ringing the hotel for directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapcaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank-you so much for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fairway again soon.

Kind regards

Suzanne Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The initial view of the hotel was it was in the middle of nowhere but the experience was very good the rooms were clean and large, the staff are friendly and helpful , if you do not have a car you are restricted to eating in the hotel, but that is not a down side the food was excellent the chef has to be commended, the potions were not large but the quality of the food was as good hotel food as I have tasted and i stay in hotels 3 or 4 nights a month, the bar price were normal for a hotel . the breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was of a reasonable quality. the room charge was very good value for money, i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff were friendly, the food was ok but my biggest fault was with the room, I found a dirty toe nail on the floor the windows didn't shut properly and you could here the room next door as the walls appear thin so won't be stayibg again .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherrypie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch whilst friends were visiting from London. I had been impressed on a previous visit but this time what a disappointment. No longer a decent restaurant menu but a poor bar snack menu badly cooked. I was disappointed and embarrassed at the poor offering.
I retract any recommendations I made previously.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Horsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel just returned from a long weekend stay at the fairway beautiful clean hotel food was out standing breakfast and evening meal great verity all fresh and cooked to order staff were very friendly and helpful will definitely go back there .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Quiet location

However shower mouldy and hairs of last guest in the shower tray.


Sheets did not fit bed and pillows were old and lumpy
Spare pillows out if wardrobe covers were stain as if had been used

Breakfast was a redeeming factor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina620923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing