We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Golf course and hotel very comfortable setback off the main road.

Tea and coffee making facilities in your room. Freewifi.

Very small selection on bar menu if they have not ran out of stock.

Good choice at breakfast full English or continental I would stay again.

Nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britty009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
23
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from three nights at the Fairway Hotel on the outskirts of Barrow in Furness. The hotel is in a lovely location, about a mile from a sandy beach surrounded by sand dunes.
The hotel is modern but beautifully furnished. I have never seen so much bedroom furniture in a hotel, other than five star but it works well due to the fact that the bedrooms are a really good size. It was a little warm for us on arrival but the radiator was clean and so easy to read and reset. I had requested a bath but we got what seemed like a swimming pool. It was so deep that I could have slept in it if the beds had not been so comfortable.

We took breakfast for the three mornings that we were there and were relieved to find that the staff were professional but friendly. The selection was good and the food well cooked and served.

there are downsides to the hotel, which are unfortunately prevalent within the industry, particularly in Britain. The only problem I encountered was the lack of cheerful customer service in a few areas. Having worked with public for many years I like to be greeted with a smile as I know this is usually reciprocated by the guest, or customer. The breakfast staff, room staff and the owner were exemplary, and one young lady in the evening seemed to be able to all the jobs with a smile on her face and friendliness in her voice.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone, with the proviso that if you eat in the restaurant in the evening be prepared for a long wait for some beautifully cooked and crafted food. Each dish, I later found out is cooked to order so make your reservation for about 45minutes before you want to actually eat. It is worth it.

Watch out for workmen when you go out in the mornings as the owner is continually updating and expanding the property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

An excellent hotel with golf driving range attached. The rooms were clean and had plenty of storage space with two wardrobes, lots of drawers, ironing board and iron and tea and coffee making facilities. Nice to have a good light over the bed for reading. The food was delicious with a good choice of menu for dinner and breakfast. Bar prices were reasonable. A good base not too far out of the Lake District.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, even numbers seem to overlook the golf driving range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMNLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and there are always improvements being made. Love the new bar area and refurbished restaurant. The new chef is really putting his mark on the place as the food is excellent!

Room Tip: Had a choice of bath or shower and opted for bath this time as we wanted to soak our aching legs. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d-jowett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a New Year break.The rooms are very spacious and comfortable,with everything you could need hairdryer, iron & board tea & coffee making. The food was fantastic of the highest quality Chef could easily be on Masterchef all meals were cooked to order. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
Only slight drawback was the location as you are a taxi ride from Barrow (£7 each way) Would go back to this hotel in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked a two night stay in this hotel in November, and having read some of the write ups on booking.com I was a little wary having had some nightmare hotels in Europe. I just wonder where these other people who left bad crititisims have stayed before. Reports that the furniture was old and dated leaves me to think the writers have NEVER stayed at this hotel before. This is a family run hotel which was converted approximately 10yrs ago to a hotel with on going renovations and extensions to increase the room capacity. The furniture is of very good quality in every room, food was very good, and all served with a smile, nothing was too much effort. This hotel is in a very quiet location but is convenient to travel to the Lake District. There are no wild parties allowed, and pets are welcome

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good size with similar amenities and accommodate children's beds. One side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebnursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whilst the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable, the food menu is limited and overpriced and there is a serious problem with the plumbing system. In the first 2 weeks of a 3 week stay i had to change rooms 4 times before i finally found a room that provided me with an undisturbed nights sleep because of the awful noises coming from the plumbing system. To avoid this problem ask for a room on the 2nd floor (Rooms 42-47).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing