We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially great rooms let down by problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The hotel renovations have generally been carried out to a high standard with nice touches, but this was let down by a series of problems. On arrival, we checked in reasonably easily, but the staff insisted on getting our name wrong, despite spelling it for them. We had booked an executive room, which we found to be on the third floor, and the lift was broken. No assistance to carry our bags was offered, and while this wasn't a significant problem for us, it may have been for others. The bedroom was generally good, but the bed base was damaged. The bathroom was a let-down, as it smelt musty on arrival, which didn't improve. The luxury shower only gave very hot or even hotter water, which made showering impossible- which was only discovered when attempting to leave for an arranged meeting.

All in all, it was disappointing for a hotel in this price range. I would like to think that we were just unfortunate in our room, but little effort was made to apologise at reception. However, the bar was great, breakfast was friendly and good, and the room would have been of a high standard if it wasn't for the problems.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed overnight with my husband and 7 month old baby, no cot in room as requested but they brought one with no delay. Lovely room, large bed..very comfortable, dimmer lights, TV and DVD with selection of movies. Bathroom very spacious with roll top bath and free standing shower with 2 shower heads. Plenty clean towels.
Went down to bar for something to eat but after 10 mins wait and no service decided to go back to room and come back once our baby was settled. Came back later and service fine...although only one waitress on.
Check in quick but on check out had to make them aware about our meal as they were unable to find the receipt from the previous night.
All in all a good stay.....only down side was the water taps were noisy when used in surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donskyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed in Barrow for 2 nights in May 2009. Parking across the road is ok but not massively convenient. Had to wait to be checked in. Lift is incredibly slow but at least they have one. The rooms have been renovated really nicely and are pretty comfortable. Sound-proofing is terrible - the road noise is very loud. The first night we were there, there was a party being held in the function room so we had to put up with pounding music until 1am. The breakfast was good although there weren't enough waitresses to make the service any good. Not the waitresses fault. Overall, the price wasn't too bad at 80/night including breakfast, but it could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helwardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I work in Barrow a few times a year and always endeavour to stay in this hotel or Abbey House which is just up the road.

It had been a while since my last visit and a few improvemenst have been made.

A lift has been installed to all floors, this would be great if you are on top two floors but it was a bit slow, better than lugging bags up though.

They have opened a new 'wing' on the first floor since my last visit, I was allocated one of the rooms, #114 at the back of the hotel, nice room, well decorated, very clean. Free WiFi, a dvd in your rooms with a selection of movies for free. walk in shower and large roll top bath. Massive bed which was also very comfy.

Only minor gripe would be the kitchen extractor fan which was left on all night both nights I was there, it was a bit noisy but after a short while got used to it and fell into a very comfortable asleep, traffic noise on a morning froma about 7 'ish.

Breakfast was nice, and tried the restaurant on the 2nd night which was much better than we expected, they have recently made a new menu in a separte restaurant upstairs featuring fine dining, never tried it but the menu looked good.

Selection of beers was very impressive, all in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCorner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

lovely hotel rooms stunning will be going back but for two nights as this was just a one night was sad to be going home!!
beds big lovely white soft cotton sheets and best sleep i have had in a long time!
food lovely!
all in all wonderfully hotel!
mr&mrs hoskin

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Recently renovated to a very high standard. Lovely old building. Food was fantastic - extremely high standards. Excellent range of real ales, foreign beers and other drinks in the very nice bar. Shame about the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubsylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We ended up staying in Barrow for reasons I will not go into, let's just say it wasn't a planned stopover. Safe to say, we weren't expecting much from any hotel in the area but the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel was a pleasant surprise.

Positives:
Fantastic service - staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to help.

Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated room - complete with king size bed, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, tea and coffee making facilities, plasma screen TV. Room was so new you could still smell the wood. Had a roof room with skylights and it was a good size and airy.

Well-stocked bar with large selection of bottled beers and real ales.

Negatives:
No lift and hotel has 3 floors. I had no problem, but for those with very heavy bags or difficulties climbing stairs....
The reception staff did offer to carry our one bag up though.

Breakfast - it is included in the price but was disappointing. I had a full English breakfast complete with extremely overdone bacon and antiseptic tasting black pudding. My partner's choice of omelette was also overcooked.

Bar attracts local Barrow crowd

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneolschak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDuke1871, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2009

Thank you for your review. As your stay was in September last year I can inform you that since that time there have been many improvements to the hotel:

There is now a glass lift giving easy access to all three floors and thus no more dragging bags up endless stairs.

We have appointed an Executive Chef with specific responsibility to improve the quality of our food. We hope our breakfasts are now comparable to quality of the rest of the hotel.

We look forward to you visiting again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
389 reviews
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
794 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $89 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing