We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
302
187
55
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
187
55
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel executive room car park railway station bar area dvd player tesco express my partner busy road lovely room free parking real ale old building top floor full english sunday lunch stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 577 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2015

This hotel has recently been refurbished and now shows its decor including oak panalling in a much better way. Car parking is across the road, so it is not possible to unload luggage at the door. Reception friendly and helpful with advice and queries. The room although booked for what I thought was a very good price, was in fact a family suite. A super king in one room and twins in the other. We grabbed a quick supper before going to meet friends. We chose the less formal of the 2 restaurants, which had a great atmosphere and good service, Many of the wines were available by the glass, which was great on this occasion. Breakfast was great. It really was the Full English with black pudding and fried bread! Of course, several alternatives were available and there was a buffet for continental, fruit or cereal.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrMIkeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Just returned from a lovely weekend at this hotel and from the moment we entered this beautiful building both myself and my husband were really impressed, everything about this hotel is special, what can I say about the rooms...WOW!! we were in room 314..lovely big en suite bathroom, separate dressing room and lounge areas and a fab bedroom with a very comfortable super king size bed and every inch of the suite immaculate. The manager and all the staff are superb, always happy and smiling, very attentive and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but they were excellent and after mentioning to Salli, the girl who served us on our last morning that we were really hungry and looking forward to breakfast the chef sent us extra large portions. .amazing!!. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this superb hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank julieWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Nice old building that has been very nicely decorated and has nicely furnished rooms to a modern standard. Super bar / restaurant area with good choice of ales/ beers / food. Be aware that car park is on other side of road from hotel. Would guess hotel more suited to business guests as not a lot to do / see in surrounding area.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alan57muir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015

Private car parking is available just across from the hotel, nearby the railway station.
Reception very friendly and efficient, only got a standard bedroom I was bothered but it was on the 1st floor had been newly refurbished and to a very good standard.
Ours had a very smart spacious wet room.
Bar and restaurant again very friendly staff, the bar has a very wide selection of drinks and the staff are knowledgeable.
It's an easy place to stay, very comfortable and good standard of cuisine in the centre of Barrow hard to beat. A comfy place also if a female traveller, couples or friends.
Close to the shopping centre and Forum theatre.
Breakfast very freshly cooked to your order from the very hard working caring chef.
Small criticism is the serving if the yoghurt, some of us with delicate systems and during the hot weather prefer yoghurt served chilled.
I would return when I go back to Barrow.

Room tip: Floor 1 rooms are newly refurbished
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

We booked in for a Friday & Saturday night weekend away. The D of E Hotel staff where pleasant, very friendly and really looked after us whilst we were there. The atmosphere was fantastic and fully intend to go back! The rooms was brilliant, the bed was huge and comfortable. The hotel provided for every need. The price is absolute bargain. The locals are great and make you feel at home.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riggers1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews