We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A lovely overnight stay in a clean, comfortable and modern room. The bed was really comfy and was a great size. The only criticism was that the shower was not very powerful, poor water pressure. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the staff were very friendly. A lovely overnight stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Was surprised for my birthday, with a stay here - I'd never been to the lakes before and would definitely go back.
The hotel was amazing and staff extremely helpful. The surrounding area doesn't look promising but inside the hotel is the complete opposite... Well decorated and very clean.
It was good value for money with an executive room (which was spectacular) only being £85. The bar is like nothing I've ever seen - so much variety and the prices are extremely reasonable.
Would recommend it to anyone... And will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitt_198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, but £95 was too expensive, okay the Hotel is well appointed and the bedrooms are fab, modern & clean but come on, Barrow in Furness, £95. Couldn't get breakfast as i had to leave at 6am shame, although they did offer a barm and a coffee.
John Cavanagh 7/10 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Group of friends decided to do a tour of Lake District real ale pubs. Chose the Duke of Ed as it was right at the end of our run and it was recommended by a brewer. Great hotel. We paid £75 for a large double room including breakfast, nearest price for a similar hotel in the lakes was more than double. Room was epic. Class with a class bathroom and remarkably comfortable 6 foot wide bed. Downstairs was the real treat, 8 real ales on tap plus a shocking number of Belgian bottled beer. We will do this trip again cos we only scratched the surface of Lake District pubs with good beer, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had room 212 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just a one day stay this time. Not a lot has changed since I stayed late last year, staff all seem in place and other than a new carpet in reception I didnt see much difference. Room 205 is a big room with a little office type entrance room, sofa, excellent bathroom, very clean, quiet and nicely decorated. Wifi worked a lot better this stay, it was a teensy bit slow last time. Bar downstairs is great, the lancaster beers are always good and the clientele in the place could best be described as nice. Ate in the bar and that was good too. Can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Family wedding and I could not afford to stay at the Clarence House in Dalton. My friend recommended the Duke of Edinburgh located just up the road. It was an excellent choice. A really smart, modern (but not too modern) Victorian hotel situated just over the road from the station and with all mod cons. My standard room was very nice indeed, a hotel room good enough for a big city and a great surprise for me. The pub downstairs is swanky but has a tremendous choice of real ales and whiskys. Excellent.

Room Tip: I peaked into room 314 and it looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On arrival the parking advice on the website is out of date, you actually park diagonally across the dual carriage way, not in the now defunct 'Hitchens'.
The receptionist booking us in seemed unaware of the location of rooms in the hotel, which is hard to understand as it is not that big!
We had to change room to the third floor to avoid noise from the function room.
It is a shame that the lift goes up the middle of the fabulous staircase.
There is a vibrant bar popular with the locals with a great range of beer.
However there is no residents lounge if you just want a quiet sit down.
We were kept waiting for over an hour for our evening meal main course, the staff said they were surprised it was so busy.
Breakfast was not great, greasy, small servings and unhelpful staff, we had to ask for extra scrambled eggs to make a reasonable portion, be prepared to pester staff for your tea and toast!
The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, the shower was good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then go for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
169 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $88 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing