We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Barrow - first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Helpful staff, great price, room exactly as described, clean and well renovated. Breakfast was lovely - bargain and if we need to stay in Barrow again this will be first on the list.

I've been before for drinks and the bar is lovely, good advice on the beer and like other hotels in the group whisky selection is excellent.

Free car parking over the road and Tesco express next door for essentials. Problem with our internet booking which they spotted and telephoned to finalise and confirm details - have paid four times the price and not received this level of service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 508 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Barrow has class! This hotel is very cool.. Even had a Jazz bar, which was full of friendly people (on a Thursday night too!)..
The rooms are first class also.. I will stay hete every time I visit Barrow..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed just one night and was fine, clean with attentive staff. Located on a main road, there was not too much in the immediate vicinity although a Tesco Express sufficed when we needed toiletries.
We tried to have dinner after being informed to just turn up from 5 - 9, we were told (quite early) that there were no tables. However, after a short discussion people drinking at a table were asked to move so that we could be allocated.
Food was plentiful and good, home cooked.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjniloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your generally positive review.

To be frank we're a little disappointed to attain only a three star review. We always aim and generally achieve much higher, it's been almost a year since our last review of less than 4 stars. However, at least we avoid complacency.

The Duke is ideally located only 2 minutes walk from the Barrow's main train station and only 300 yards from the main shopping district in town. If you visit again I'm sure reception will be able to point the local landmarks and points of interest.

Regarding the restaurant. We are generally fully booked at weekends, the Duke is a very popular destination for Barrovian diners and drinkers. However, as you found, we make a special effort to ensure our hotel guests are given a table and in 99.99% of cases we're successful.

Hopefully, if you visit again, you'll have an even better experience and we can start to aim for 4 or even 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've stayed here three times now, a year apart each time (family birthday do). The hotel had a big revamp a few years ago and it shows. The rooms are big and stylishly decorated, the bathrooms modern and well laid out (massive bath towels), big comfy beds, and nice touches like an iron and ironing board. Breakfast is generous and the staff polite and helpful.

The one fly in the ointment is the central heating system. The hotel uses radiators but rather than just let people turn the knob up and down to regulate the temparature, they've installed a touch pad wall system, of the type more generally used with air conditioning. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to work properly. We wanted to set the temperature to 11C overnight, instead it kept resetting itself to 21C. Fortunately for us, we could keep the windows open. My cousin, who has small children and therefore couldn't do that, had to spend the night boiling in a 22C room.

When we mentioned it at reception, they said they'd just had some work done which might have affected it, but I remember we had the same problem the year before. That aside, everything else about this hotel is great, and I would still recommend it as a good option for a stay in Barrow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your review.

We did have problems during late February through to the earliest part of March with air getting into our heating system. It has taken many days painstaking work to ascertain the source of the problem which has now (finally) been rectified. Apologies for the problems you endured, we've not had any similar comments for quite some time (either on here or in our maintenance diary) so I'm afraid you must have been unlucky twice. Hopefully you will never have to suffer over or under heating at any future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip and booked executive double room. Competitive price and lovely room, with nice decor and a very comfortable bed. Plenty of space in the room and a very nice bathroom. Ordered room service which was good quality and arrived promptly. Good location in the town centre and very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caznzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Polite, helpful staff. Nice decor. Comfy bed. Very large bath towels. Spotlessly Clean, decent food. Large bedroom and bathroom, well located for the town centre. Much better than travellodge! Good value for money :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobbo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Last night I took my wife for an evening of live jazz at the Dukes. We were given a nice corner table downstairs to enjoy the band later but I must say the dinner we had was first rate.Nothing pretentious on the menu just good simple dishes well cooked and nicely presented that won't break the bank.There was a lovely buzzy atmosphere and combined with a few Riojas we had the best evening in Barrow that we have had in a long time. Although we have enjoyed the Dukes on many occasions before now this was the first venture downstairs. I'm only sorry we havent tried it out before. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
722 reviews
24.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing