We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fab stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Another fab stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always use this hotel when we come to visit our family in Barrow. It's got to be the best hotel in the area, and never let's us down! Our most recent stay was sat 26th jan. The hotel has such a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere to it. We love the bar area, with a great selection of real ales and wine, and the roaring log fire is an added bonus. We stayed in a standard room, and it was a great size, modern and very clean. As usual breakfast was lovely, and the blonde haired waitress was so friendly and provided excellent service. All in all another great stay and we ll be back. Just a very minor point, but the windows downstairs in the bar area need a good clean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    155
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
65
228
28
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night for my birthday. We were told we had been upgraded when we arrived which a nice surprise. The room was lovely, very stylish and modern. the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner though. the back of the door had lots of splash marks and i had to give the sink a wipe over. The bed was very very comfy. The highlight was the bar in the evening. Very busy with a great atmosphere and good staff. There was a live band on later on too downstairs and because we were staying at the hotel the admission was free. We had a great evening. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and just what the doctor ordered after the night before. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34Sophie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

my wife and I recently traveled to Barrow for the weekend ,we stayed at The Duke and were given a standard room, not expecting too much we were pleasantly surprised by the standard and modern deco of the room , it was spotless with flat screen tv wireless and a fantastic shower.The staff were very polite and helpful I can unreservedly recommend this hotel to any travelers looking for a quality hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

stayed here for 1 night got upgraded to top floor a very quirky room,beautifull bathroom,really lovely room at the back of the hotel i would say it was the bedroom in the eves that you could view the street at the back, the only down size was a drunk who shouted and swore for hours to paraletic to get up from the street.
The food in the pub was great,good menu, lovely log fire roaring away.
The price we were charged for 2 adults bed and breakfast was £65. very reasonable.
definately would return again
Staff were friendly and very helpfull.

Room Tip: back bedrooms have no view and there is a back street were drunks gather so be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but the service was excellant & the room top quality. Room was very clean & stylish with all mod cons including flat screen tv & bathroom was spotless & stylish.
I would recommend this hotel & would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNIESStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my second visit to the Duke. Check in is always speedy and easy. I requested a room away from the street because it can get noisy at night. My room was very comfortable and the food is good. It is very convenient to Barrow shops, restaurants and train station. My biggest gripe with hotels in the UK is that they don't have wash cloths in the bathrooms. I have to bring my own.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSU1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Duke, in a grand old building kitty-corner to the train station, benefits from the character provided by the building but doesn't rest on it. My room, on the top floor of the south wing, was modern in furnishing and appointment but conformed elegantly to the steeply sloping roof line and long narrow space. It felt like the keep of a castle, but much warmer. I had a view of the rooftops of the town and the distant Irish Sea, from which a cold wind and driving rain came to buffet the windows for several nights in a row.

Even though the hotel is at the corner of two busy roads, my room was quiet. The breakfast provided in the main dining lounge was superb. I had a choice of hot entrees (eggs benedict became my first choice, the kippers second) to be combined with a cold buffet and excellent coffee. Service was excellent. This room transforms at night into a restaurant and bar. Unfortunately I can't comment on the food because the one night I went I could not get anyone to take my order. Perhaps the pub takes priority.

The hotel interior is quirky. The grand central staircase encircles an elegantly fitted modern elevator. The landings are walled off from the corridors, which keeps the rooms even quieter. Beyond, oddly arranged corridors wind up and down and around. Oddly placed steps make wheeling luggage awkward. These odd shapes also make the wi-fi too weak to use in some rooms. There appears to be only one transceivers on each floor, on the staircase landing. Thus, for a reliable signal, one must sit there.

The Duke's location was just right for my work at the shipyard. I could walk everywhere. The town's main pedestrian mall starts just around the corner, there are several restaurants and pubs within a 10-minute walk, and the train station is a block away. For those coming by car, the hotel's free parking is inconveniently located beside the train station, so the guest has to negotiate the busy intersection on foot with luggage and perhaps in the rain, since one cannot even stop in front of the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Higher the better since the surrounding roads are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
24.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with forty two en-suite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. The new Vaults Restaurant and Cocktail bar opened in 2014 and is a beautiful, modern venue developed from the Duke's own World War Two air raid shelter cellar. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing