We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here as part of my birthday weekend away. The staff are very helpful and even helped my partner plan a surprise of chocolates and flowers in the bedroom to greet me on my return from a shopping expedition. The room was lovely, Massive bathroom with an enormous bath, very different to a normal hotel room with lots of extra touches, we were also given a free upgrade. The bar restaurant downstairs is used by the locals and they have entertainment on at the weekend which sounded great. I dont think we would go back to Barrow as it is a bit quiet for us but if i did i would definately stay here again

Room Tip: see if you can get a free upgrade - we didnt have to ask and got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to visit Barrow frequently and I almost always try to stay here, barrow is not the nicest place to be sometimes, but this hotel makes you forget your surroundings. The rooms are exceptional, immaculate and tidy, provide everything and more that the modern day traveler needs. Roll top baths and huge walk in showers as well as super-king size beds make it that much better. The bar was great, offering everything the mind can boggle in way of drinks. 1 Evening we had a meal and again it was fabulous. Breakfast was quick and fresh and in its plenty. Will definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hard2plz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely Hotel, that made us very welcome. Friendly staff and really great rooms!
We`ll be back! Our breakfast was great and served by smiling helpul staff with a smile. Fantastic buffet for our Falklands reunion in the Function room! A great place for any groups! Lovely bar and Music venue! Room prices great value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great weekend here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and more than enough for my healthy appetite! The superior double was really nice and offered us an extremely comfortable bed, couple of relaxing chairs, a dresser / work-desk and tea/coffee tray. The bathroom was lovely with a large twin-ended bath and luxury shower. Only problem I foresee here was the floor tiles which are loose and missing grout so if the bath overflowed it would cause major problems in the room downstairs! Needs some attention (room 222)..otherwise a very good stay and would definitely recommend it. There is a beautiful park within minutes of the hotel too for those wishing to take a stroll..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lochailort470222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

HMS Invincible Communications Association had their annual reunion at this hotel on the weekend of 21 - 23 September 2012. The hotel was warm and comfortable. The staff friendly. The room my wife and I were in was very clean with super king size bed, tea/coffee facilities, flat screen tv and a spotless en-suite. If I am ever in Cumbria again and need a place to stay this hotel would be top of the list, one of the best weve stayed in in the UK.

Room Tip: Had room 203 at the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just had a 2 night stay with a Reunion in the Function Room on Saturday Night. I was on the top floor in a double ensuite, the room was clean, tidy and smart. The staff were more than helpful especially John the Manager and Graham the Functions Manager. Had breakfast at hotel both mornings which was excellent. The buffet by the hotel on Saturday was very good and more than we could all eat (Excellent value) I can thoroughly recommend the Duke as the place to stay in Barrow and the place to have a function be it wedding, party or reunion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonzobignose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

When coming to Barrow I had no idea what to expect, but this Hotel surely exceeded my expectations. With live music, a friendly staff, and quiet 3rd level room. I was surprised by the little extras the hotel offered and will certainly mark it for a return.

Room Tip: Noisy street and live music, so suggest to confirm a 3rd Floor Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,178 reviews
24.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $85 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing