We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great room service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Sensitive to lone female travellers. Room service excellent and often delivered by a female staff member or a discreet male. The food is quick, hot and lovely. just what is needed after a day at work. I have stayed three times and will continue to visit whilst on business travel.

Room Tip: Go to the top of the building, all are of good quality and cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    155
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
65
229
28
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is unbelievable for the price. The rooms are compact but very well designed, clean and attractive. Our room had a large selection of towels and excellent air conditioning as well as a comfy bed. The breakfast was great and the selection excellent. There's a huge array of drinks in the bar and the building itself has been beautifully refurbished. I can't believe it was only £65 a night including breakfast. Staff very friendly and chatty but not annoying. It's also very central to Barrow town centre and right by the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Sang in a band on Friday night and stayed over at the Duke. Big hotel with great bar and nice nice rooms. We play at a few bars in Cumbria and always have to stay over. This is the best hotel in Barrow, Abbey House being the next best but more old fashioned and stuck a few miles out of town. Back again in 3 months, playing at forum. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MolinarisLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

One of the better hotels in Barrow in Furness. Rooms although modern and contemporary could now do with a blitz. Good value and will use again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My 2nd stay, no complaints. Reception staff are very attentive. I arrived early and they got me into my room early. My room was on the top floor and was massive and very clean and well equipped.

Free wi-fi which is useful (with a strong signal!)

Potentially the slowest lift in the world, so if you're on the 3rd floor, a walk will do you good.

Plenty of room in the bar and there is entertainment in the cellar (jazz night when I was there). Breakfast was good and well served.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a lovely hotel. We used the Duke as a base for lake hopping! and we are glad we did. It's a very clean and welcoming place. The staff are very attentive and friendly. We arrived on a saturday to find they had a northern soul disco in their downstairs room( The Vault).Nice surprise!.Seriously,i like Northern soul.We did have an issue with our saturday night restaurant food but this was resolved by the staff but needless to say on the following two nights we ate elsewhere.Once bitten.The rooms are lovely and the bathroom/en-suite superb.We had a very quiet room,which we appreciated.If i must be picky,you do seem to wait an eternity for your cooked breakfast.We only gave it one go in three because of the wait(40 mins) and prices in their bar were steeper than we're used to but all said and done we would stay again and recommend to friends. Free carparking is available over the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Having just had a long trip I booked into the Duke of Edinburgh. The parking is accross the road in an open un-secure car park and you have to get a pass to put in the car to stop you getting wheel clamped. This was a bit of a pain as you have to check in, put your bags in the room then go back out ( into the rain ) to put your pass in the vehicle. The hotel Ja on a busy junction beside the road so if you want to sleep during the day thus might be a problem due to traffic noise.

Having said that the rest of the stay was good, the room is clean and modern and the food wand service was great. If it wasn't for the parking I'd give the hotel 5/5.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
24.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with forty two en-suite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. The new Vaults Restaurant and Cocktail bar opened in 2014 and is a beautiful, modern venue developed from the Duke's own World War Two air raid shelter cellar. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing