We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a stag party”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Majestic
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Galgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine for a stag party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

If Id been on my own or with a partner Id have kicked up a fuss. It is/was cheap. We paid £35 for a room each and I suppose at the end of the day thats not too bad. But three very bad things. Firstly we were at the top of the hotel and the lift was broken. Worse, when I asked the nice geezer on reception he said it hadnt worked in years. Second my room had big damp patches in three corners with black mould. Im asthmatic and stuff like that worries me. Lastly we got back at about 2.30am (a fairly sensible stag party) and I was kept awake until around 5 by shouting and screaming (more the latter). Drove me mad and made the hangover much worse. Not for me. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Try if possible to avoid any room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
36
88
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got to the hotel and I wasn't expecting too much. But I was impressed with the decor and how clean and well kept the hotel was inside. The our family room was very spacious and clean. The only thing that let the room down was the damp patches on the wall. They could do with sorting out. Saying that though it did not reflect badly on the room or hotel itself. There was a good choice for breakfast. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on a visit to the south lakes. It is considerably cheaper than any hotels actually in the lakes. Our double room was at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor it was large clean and had everything you could need. the noise from drunks outside was not an issue for us we both slept soundly. breakfast was served in the Italian restaurant which is part of the hotels and aswel as juice, cereals, fruit etc you could have a cooked to order English breakfast. the food was tasty and the staff were polite and efficient. Being right in middle of Barrow town center you have good choice of restaurants, takeaways and pubs for your evening entertainment. there also a shopping center if you are interested. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulevans1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Booked in by work during a business trip to Barrow. Stayed on the first floor which is lucky because the lift is always out of order. The rooms are clean, tidy with lovely bedding and fresh fluffy towels. Tea and coffee facilities are below the tv in a cupboard and the rooms benefit from free wifi. Breakfast is really good and Elaine always gives a warm welcome and ensures that your order is correct and prompt. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, it is an Italian restaurant which serves good food at a reasonable price. The only criticism is that the rooms can be a bit on the small side (especially the bathroom), although for sleeping this isn't a problem, and they are starting to show signs of a little wear and tear (guess that's due to the popularity of the hotel). Lastly the parking can be a bit tight if your arrive later in the day. Overall this a great hotel that provides what you require at good value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently room 105 is larger and has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g30fftodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the majestic during the first bank holiday weekend in may 2013 for two nights. We got a cracking deal so it was a no brainer for the money and right in the centre of town.
Positives
Friendly staff
Good breakfast
Centre of town location
Free parking
Great value for money
Nice towels
Noted that their restaurant was very busy in the evening (though we didn't eat there)

Negatives
Very dated and in real need of some renovating/updating
Bathroom in our room was very small
City centre location may not suit some due to noise from the local nightlife (didn't bother us though)

Definetly better value and more character than the local travelodge so if value is what you are after you can't go far wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the roundabout and nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and thought it was excellent value for money, Found the staff very friendly and helpful, The rooms were lovely and clean, nice white fluffy towels Tea and coffee facilitys, Comfy bed although we did find this a small double, lovely clean bathroom, the down side to the room was that we were on the 3rd floor and the lift was broken but kept us fit! also our room was at the back of the hotel so we heard the church clock strike every 15minutes, also the couple we traveled with there room was on the front of the hotel and unfortunatly they had the noise of the night club customers leaving. The breakfasts were excelent, would stay at this hotel again as its value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgehog111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights while doing the Coniston to Barrow walk. My friend and I stayed in a family room,cannot fault the value for money. The cleaners were so nice and friendly,on the Sunday when we were in agony after they walk,they left us lots of extra teabags and milk,so a HUGE thank you to them. All the staff are really helpful and friendly. The food in Francesca's is nice,and good value. The breakfast was fine,lots of choice and served with a smile.
I would 100% stay here again. The only negatives I have is,we were on the second floor and the lift was out of order,which made for rather painful trips up and down the stairs after a 23 mile walk, also the clock outside is annoying. (I know they can't do anything about it but....) But I would stay here again,definite value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
12.9 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Majestic

Property: The Hotel Majestic
Address: Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing