We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I took a group of 5 to work in Barrow and we booked in at The Imperial Hotel.
From the moment we got there to the moment we left we were treated like Royalty.
From the receptionists to the bar staff to the night porter, all smiling and pleased to see us.

Great cocktails in the bar (Aspire - a luxury and very cool bar) before and after we ventured out to Francesco's for a very nice Italian meal. The prices here were very reasonable and the portions more than enough.

No bother with noise like other reviewers commented even though we stayed on a Saturday night.

The hotel also has an all night bar which was very welcome after working til late.

You won't find anywhere to touch this hotel in Barrow!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Horrid.
We were warned that our room was discounted because you could here noise from the pub below. Fair enough.
However, this wasn't just noise, Items on our bedside tables were physically moving along with the bass from the club speakers which i'm sure were nailed to the ceiling under our bed. The shaking stopped at 3: 30 ish and we managed to get some sleep. we were then shocked awake about 6 am by a horrendous glass smashing noise. Looked out the window to see a bemused chap in the room opposite peering down to the ground. He told us he opened the sash window for some air and it just fell out, frame and all. I would have laughed out loud normally if i wasn't so tired. Went back to sleep untill 10 ish ' missed breakfast so cant comment on that.
I half expected jeremy beadle to pop out with a fake beard and a microphone when we went to check out. I think we would have had a better night sleeping in the bus shelter opposite.
The End.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sweetpea-and-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana B, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Whilst we sympathise with the customer's position we must insist prospective guests understand our 'classic room' deal. The noise emanates from the ground floor 'nightclub', not merely a pub as suggested in this review. This is clearly explained in our Late Room description before booking. Many other standard rate rooms are available which do not suffer from noise pollution.

Whilst we do not wish to disclose private affairs, the incident involving a broken window pain was a domestic matter between a couple which involved police attendance and the customer later paying for the inflicted damage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two days before moving to their sister hotel. Rooms are excellent, modern and snazzy festooned with mirrors and shiny metal. Problem is location. It's at the end of a very shabby street full of derelict bars and boarded up night clubs. It is noisy and as a single lady I wasnt comfortable walking around at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked through late rooms.com before reading the negative reviews on trip advisor and so I was a bit nervous of what to expect. I stay in a fair few hotels each year, mostly on business, and I have to report that I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel! My single room on the second floor was clean and modern with a great bathroom and on the Monday evening I stayed the noisiest thing I heard was the seagulls! However, as other reviewers have noted this hotel does seem to be on Barrow's main street for nightclubs so I can imagine noise might be an issue at the weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AubreyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Imperial is still pretty fresh from its refurbishment so the hotel looks very modern and is very welcoming, especially in the Wine Bar on the round floor. We got a room on the 1st floor and although we had been pre-warned that these rooms are at a reduced rate due to the nightclub next door, I hadnt quite expected the level of noise we experienced. The music was so loud that the bass vibrated through the floor and through the pipes of the central heating which I found absolutely ridiculous, as the windows are not double glazed you could hear people stood outside at the smoking area as if they were in the same room. Fair enough you are told prior to your stay about the noise but I felt it was unacceptable to pay £40 to stay up until 3am when the nightclub closes.

The room itself was nice and clean and quite modern for the 'cheap' rooms. The bathroom was nice with plenty of towels, soap, shower gel etc and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms.

As the rooms were exposed to severe noise you are allowed a late checkout but as you cant get any sleep until after 3am we got up at 10am and missed breakfast which is only served between 6.30 and 9.30, surely they breakfast should be made later???

I wouldnt recommend unless you are planning a night out and wouldnt get back to the hotel until the early hours. If you want to get a good nights sleep either stay sun-wed or avoid!!!

Room Tip: If you want any chance of sleeping ask for a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is bad in so many ways. The room decor is awful. There are no drawers for storage in the room the only hanging space is a bar about four foot long. The room door cannot be locked from the inside. The advertised on site parking only applies to the first five cars to arrive that day, the advertised off-site free parking is only free after six pm in the public carpark across the street. The only meals offered by the hotel are breakfast, not mentioned in their advert. Breakfast is served in what was a function suite at tables seating eight ,not my idea of a perfect meal. The staff were not at all friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnmacj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana B, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We wish to encourage all guests to clearly read the description of our hotel facilities before staying with us. Our hotel description clearly states limited parking on a first come, first served basis - with provision for 10 cars. We have no control over parking fees administered by the local authority. Our description also states we are a Metro Hotel offering a breakfast service but no evening meal.

All rooms feature modern, fire service approved, self locking doors which can only be opened from the inside, or from the outside with the use of a room key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

decided to book this hotel as a last minute break before my girlfriend gives birth in 9weeks,we stayed on a tue and wed nite mid july,i have read some reviews where poeple say that it is noisy,but to be honest the place was like a ghost town,the hotel is near enough in the middle of the town just a 2min walk from the main street,where you will find a good selection of shops,but not many resturants,we walked all around and found 3 italian,2 chinese and a mexician.
also only 25min max drive to the lake windermere and attractions.
back to the hotel,the staff are friendly and helpfull,the hotel overall is newly referbished and clean,there is a cocktail bar and a irish bar downstaris in the lobby area.there is 4 floors alltogeather and i belive the normal rooms are on floor 1 and 2 and a few on 3,also the emperior room is on 3 and there is suites with balconys on floor 4.there is a lift aswell wich is handy.i would recommend anyone wanting a relaxing 2 nites to stay in room 301(emperior room).the room is very clean to a high standerd,the bed is massive and comfertable,the toilet and wet room are situated behind frosted glass,the shower is very good and big enough for two with a oversized shower head off the ceiling.the best bit is the jacuzzi tub,situated on a raised decking type of floor in frount of the massive tv on the wall,perfect for unwinding whilst watching tv in the evening,also has changeable mood lighting in the jacuzzi,the room also has tea and coffee making facility in the room.also i found the room did get quite warm,but luckly the window does open wide to let the breeze in from the sea.only thing that is wrong with this room is that there is a lift right next to the room and makes a annoying beep noise when in motion,alltho not that loud.breakfast is 6-9 wich offers full english aswell as continental and is good.
all in all a good,clean tidy hotel,in a decent location with friendly staff and a nice bar in the lobby

Room Tip: if you are a couple then room 301 (eperior room) room is the one for you.with private jacuzzi bath b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardrv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Cornwallis Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions. The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing