We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely welcome”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I cannot rate the staff in this hotel highly enough. From arriving at the hotel to leaving it every member of staff on duty were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size, immaculate and with lovely bed linen and also very comfortable. Please don't be put off by the area and give this hotel a chance. The breakfast was amazing and the meals were so good we went back with friends for Sunday lunch which we couldn't fault. Thank you for a lovely stay and when we next come to barrow we will look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is not pretty but does the jobs. The room was clean and quiet. The building could do with a bit of tlc, there was a cracked window on the landing. The breakfast was average, I only had the ceral and toast as I had had a big meal the night before at the Chequers in Dalton.The chequers was excellant see review. The breakfast was included, to my surprise, as the booking said "room only". I will come back if as a last resort. I prefer the Chetwynes or the Abbey House.

Room Tip: Check other hotel first but this one will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Looks are deceiving! From the outside The Royal Hotel just looked like a large pub! But our room was very clean and a lovely large bed with crisp clean linen and towels. The room (202) was on the top floor so a bit awkward if lots of stairs are a problem for you. Small room and compact on- suite shower room but clean and warm. Badly designed shower room, as the (very hot) towel rail is too close to wash basin and my husband burnt his arm while shaving! Also glass ledge above basin is an accident waiting to happen. Shower not a power shower in fact quite feeble. No wardrobe only drawers so had to hang coats,dress and suit over the back of an armchair! Very large windows with curtains but would benefit with blinds for more privacy. We were not informed that there was a free complimentary drink at the bar on your first night! Found out too late! We only stayed 1 night and did not eat breakfast or dinner there so cannot comment on food. Checking in was fine nice young lady (even tho she didn't tell us about the free drink!) but checking out was a pain as we had to wait a while and then look for someone to do it. A bit off putting when the chef in his "whites" came to help us. Great fish and chips from the Chinese takeaway right opposite the hotel!! Not sure if we would stay again only maybe if nothing else was available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaMazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been stopping at the Royal Hotel for around 6 weeks now, i work on the windfarms and i am staying in here until March next year.

I am leaving a review partway threw my stay because i have just read the review below and am in disbelief that there is any truth in this at all, i have had nothing but a good experience whilst i have been here at the Royal this is my home from home. I eat in the restaurant almost every night and have never experienced a bad meal the food is excellent. The rooms are in excellent condition and they are very comfortable and really clean

I would recommend anybody to stop here the staff are great the food is really good and the rooms are cleaned to a very high standard, i just feel sorry for the staff here after they work so hard to make everybody feel comfortable and welcome to have to read a review like this

I see the below review as dig by another hotel who maybe be suffering from the success of the Royal hotel, i would suggest the person who left the review or trip advisor remove the review as this i totally wrong

Good look guys at the Royal and thanks for making me and the other lads feel so welcome (the royal family lol)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The worst hotel experience I have ever been in, I had to endure two nights here, late night music, shabby rooms, poor food, the cleaner didn't even clean my sink in my room before I got to it, the sink itself had pubes and toothpaste all over it as well as footprints on it. The first night I ate at the restaurant I ordered steak when the waitress brought it to me she said the chef will knock a couple of quid off the bill for you then walked off, I had not a clue what she meant by this needless to say I didn't eat it, the second night I ate there the menu was on the table I asked for steak and ale pie, the waitress came back and said I'm sorry the chef has put the wrong menu out. The whole customer service, cleanliness and overall depressed state this hotel is in I will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived very friendly staff Great meal very good value Come on Breakfast First time in Barrow in Furnace Comfy and warm room, cold and wet outside. Complimentary drink at the bar on arrival What more could you ask for

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busybea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My company booked me in here - and was my first time in Barrow. I am due to be here for several weeks over the next few months.

Id often stay in national brands - but the photos looked good here.

The hotel has clearly had some money spent on it. The large bar area was great, and I found in the evenings that the locals and residents mixed well, and I felt quite relaxed sitting there in the evenings.

I saw some people had mentioned the Wifi, but this I was told had all been recently upgraded and I found it fine in the bar and my room.

The evening meals were great - I'd recommend the Calamari, and the Gammon!

Staff were all very helpful and attentive - and had the feel of a family run hotel with all staff seeming to enjoy their jobs and happy to assist.

I had a couple of very early starts and they were happy to make a packed lunch for me free of charge, which is pretty rare.

I think they seem pretty full, which is no surprise - it was full when I was there - and I look forward to my next stay there. I am told a large screen is going in next month for sporting events and a residents lounge is going in, which will add to it further.

Room Tip: Perhaps the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.9 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lisdoonie Hotel
Lisdoonie Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 12-14 Anchor Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel has recently undergone a huge refurbishment and has just reopened in April 2013 - and feedback has been incredible! See the photos showing the gorgeous bar area, and the beautifully refurbished bedrooms and new bathrooms in place. We have a excellent chef on site creating some fantastic evening meals and a Sunday lunch service. We offer free wifi and for long term stays a free laundry service too. We have a function room available to hire for your events and can cater for buffets and other food requirements for your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing