We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and customers”
Review of Ambrose Hotel

Ambrose Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambrose Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here whilst visiting friends in the area. The rooms have got solid walls - so no neighbour snoring - and the staff and customers are friendly and keen to chat. The owners are frequently on hand to greet guests and to ensure their stay is pleasant and enjoyed. The business changed hands about a year ago and the new owners are really working hard to turn this place into a place that customers will enjoy and come back to.

Strongly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JGDunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

a friend booked the ambrose at the last minute. glad he did. lovely hotel and staff. roomy and immaculately clean en suite twin room. very reasonable bar prices and super breakfast. will definitely return. perfect location for town centre but probably a taxi from the railway station .

Room Tip: room 5 was a roomy twin overlooking side street , so nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhino25leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As a family of four, we went to the South Lakes animal park for the day. I looked at accommodation nearby & the Ambrose had the best reviews, I now know why! Don't be put off by the proximity to town or football ground, inside is a welcoming haven with very friendly staff. We had the top floor family room which actually sleeps 5 ( rare to find) with plenty of space & proper beds not put ups you normally find in family rooms. Very clean & comfortable. There was entertainment on in the bar, but very little noise even with the velux windows open. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of juice, coffee & tea. Plenty of eateries up the road in town, we can recommend the Chinese buffet, all you can eat at a fixed price but all seemed to be popular. Would definitely stay at the Ambrose again if over that way.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault our room but maybe rooms lower down may have some noise from the bar on weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebsA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here in August with a bunch of golfing buddies. We got a warm friendly welcome from the lady on recption. In fact, all the staff were really nice. the rooms were clean and pleasant and the bathroom was modern and well appointed. Full English breakfast was just what the doctor ordered after a few libations the night before. Only downside was the advertised "karaoke" was cancelled due to "technical problems" and some of our party were looking forward to a good sing song.
Would definately return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tirumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business
Found my room to be ok with a few fixtures within the bathroom loose
The food was excellent value for money; however very limited, as I was leaving in the morning prior to breakfast starting, the night porter kindly russled me up breakfast :)) much appreciated
The staff were extremely helpfull & pleasant
I was advised there was free Wi-Fi; however could not get a conection
Overall I would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Found this hotel last thing was a little bit apperhesive but when we arrived the staff could not be more helpful the hotel is clean and the rooms are clean to we stayed for a week and had a great time they made us feel very welcome and relaxewe had our grand child with us they were excellent with her would go back if in this area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Helpful staff, very attractive locatio, peaceful fell. Rooms smaller that big chains but otherwise furnished nicely. Free Internet. Breakfast is a bit of a feeding frenzy as all the food (good selection) is in about a 12 square foot area and people are jammed in to get it. We would probable do ivy again. It is a cozy place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
124 reviews
21.5 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrose Hotel

Address: Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $78 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambrose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Barrow In Furness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing