We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great stay in barrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chetwynde Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

myself, my husband and my two year old son have just returned from a two night stay at the chetwynde. What a lovely hotel, clean, warm and the staff very friendly and attentive. We stayed on the top floor in family room and it was a very good size with plenty of room for toddler to run around. The breakfast was excellent and staff were happy to help with anything we needed. A five minute drive took us to wildlife park which was the reason for our visit and we were not disappointed. We were able to pay in once and leave park lunch time for my sons nap then return later in day. Great stay and lovely hotel, would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willycolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

we rserved two superior rooms in the new annex,king size beds roberts digital alarm clock radio,32in wallmounted panasonic tv and full tea and coffee making facilites.ensuite luxury shower is the fnal touch
the full english breakfast was cooked to order.
on saturday night we had a party of 8 for a faily meal the service was friendly and thefood was superb

Room Tip: choose an annexe ground follr room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoyntonSoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Chetwynde is a good hotel. I stayed for one night in a room in the main building rather than the annex. It was a big room with lots of period furniture: very comfortable and homely - no complaints. Staff were friendly and polite. Although a large and older building the hotel was warm and comfortable. I was meeting a group on business who also stayed in the hotel. We ate in the dining room: a typical roast dinner meal which was filling and tasty. I liked the quirky furniture and features in the hotel: a harpsichord and a suit of armour were two items noted. Although I am probably unlikely to revisit Barrow for a while if I did I would stay again at the Chetwynde.

Room Tip: Stayed in the main part of the hotel rather than the newer annex. Probably larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandChris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband, children and i had a lovely nights stay at the hotel, rooms were warm clean and comfortable. We also visited the south lakes animal park with the children which is only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The food from the restaurant was very good, well above average. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donmcki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a family run hotel with a friendly atmosphere.
The menu is a little limited, but then again I may just be biased as I really fancied a curry and there was not one on the menu!
The staff and owners are friendly and the rooms quiet and clean.
Have stayed before and will stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff the sort of room you would like when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from hotel after having a meal everything as delicious from entering the hotel and leaving the service was spot on, will be returning again soon and recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kbvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is far too expensive for what it is and particularly the meals in the restaurant are poor value for money. There are no real amenities in the hotel and the upper floor rooms in the old part of the hotel gave showers that simply don't work. If you are staying there then find somewhere else to eat - the area offers many good quality pubs with similar menus in more pleasant environments and at sensible prices.

Room Tip: If you want a decent shower, don't accept a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank normannorma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
1.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Clarke's Hotel
The Clarke's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rampside
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
472 reviews
21 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetwynde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetwynde Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $89 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an elegant,traditional, independent family run hotel. Built in 1897 we have retained the Victorian character of the hotel, and the hotel is peppered with interesting antiques and curios alongside modern facilities such as free wifi broadband access and i-pod docking stations and DVD players in our Superior Rooms. We are a welcoming hotel with super friendly staff; ideal for families wanting a stay away from the town centre. We are set in private gardens and we beleive in valuing traditional service and the elegance of a bygone era, while offering the best in modern features. We represent an independent alternative to the cloned looks of a chain hotel by offering something unique and personal. Our restaurant is open Monday to Saturday and offers meals from £8.95 - including dishes such as local herdwick lamb and fell bred steak. Parking is on site, private and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chetwynde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing