We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your bill!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr Elephant - CLOSED

Mr Elephant
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New TripAdvisor Page: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190821-d6878511-Reviews-Indian_kitchen_barrow-Barrow_in_Furness_Lake_District_Cumbria_England.html
glasgow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Check your bill!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went here on a family birthday meal on a Saturday night.

Food was OK - not as good as Glasgow Indian places , staff were friendly and helpful.

The poppadoms and dips were served on the cheapest plastic tray, would have been much nicer on a sliver tray.

The place was reasonably quiet so service was good but on receiving the bill noticed an error where we had been overcharged, they did rectify with a slight apology but it was embarrassing having to confront them. The drinks also were not detailed out so we couldn't work out if we were overcharged or not and having already confronted them it was too cringe worthy to ask them to detail out the drinks.

All in all and OK experience but I won't be hurrying back and I will be checking my bill if there is a next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Well Pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to eat, staff very pleasant food is of a high quality, lots of different types of curries available. Prices are reasonable. All in all a nice clean and pleasant place to eat. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnydontdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“third visit, best yet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our third visit last night and the best yet, couldn't fault the food and service, pleasant and roomy place with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I ordered last night using just eat after hearing good things about this place. It took 2 hours to get the meal delivered and when it came it was then the wrong order. I called up several times to complain and tge gentleman taking the calls was nothing but useless. The manager was friendly and appologetic. When i finally got my order 2 hours and 20 minutes after ordering it was COLD! And to top it of as a way of appology they sent me a bottle of wine....Red wine....yuk. Could not have heen anymore disappointed 

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I, have been to Mr Elephant, 5 times, the food is of excellent quality and is reasonably priced. We can only say, looking forward to our next visit..recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Elephant also viewed

Newton in Furness, Barrow-in-Furness
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing