We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Best in Barrow”
Review of Mr Elephant - CLOSED

Mr Elephant
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New TripAdvisor Page: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190821-d6878511-Reviews-Indian_kitchen_barrow-Barrow_in_Furness_Lake_District_Cumbria_England.html
Glossop, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My Best in Barrow”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Went here last night, family party of 11.

Was very impressed, this in has been my best dining experience in Barrow, really nice surroundings, lots of space, good staff, good food (like the Elephant spice!). They have done a good job in converting the old pub, kudos to them.

I eat out quite alot with work and this would not be out of place in London or Geneva!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark.L.Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food but!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

There were six of us, Saturday night the place was packed, good atmosphere, the food was excellent, great value but service needs to be improved. Will go back, give it a try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrow_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“At last a good curry in Barrow!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Super food and service, only down side was no early bird specials for families

Helpful?
Thank 40Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another very good experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Went for fourth visit to The Elephant in as many months and was not disappointed. Previous visits have been with family, work-mates and friends varying in party size from 6 to 26. This time there were 10 of us and we had a good time. From greeting where there had a been a mix up over booking time - probably my fault - but didn't cause a problem. All professed meals to be good - even those who don't prefer Indian food. On all visits it has been very busy but staff seem to be able to handle it. Lounge seating afterwards very comfortable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My partner and I took the kids (age11 and 6) here on new years eve fully expecting it to be overpriced and over busy and immediately we all were pleasantly pleased by the warm and friendly reception we received.The restaurant itself is stylishly designed but without losing its warm and inviting atmosphere and the food was of a really good standard as is the service, given that it was a busy night we could easily have been rushed in order to re-set the table but we were never given that impression. The price is very slightly more than some restaurants in the area but you definitely get what you pay for. We will definitely be eating there again and recommend anyone to give it a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nemofish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Elephant also viewed

Newton in Furness, Barrow-in-Furness
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing