We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long stretch of beach”
Review of Earnse Bay

Earnse Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long stretch of beach”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Miles of beach, great for walking along, sunbathing and swimming! Also, the Coast Road, Rampside, Roanhead, and other parts of Walney Island, including Biggar Bank and North Scale, also have long stretches of beach and on the south end of Walney there is a nature reserve, which is great for families to walk around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Earnse Bay is one of the jewels of Walney Island. It has a vast expanse of flat golden sand and is a Mecca for windsurfers and kite powered sand-boards. There is also an adjoining nature reserve which is a pleasant walk in sand-dunes. Parking is free and plentiful. The only real snag is the lack of refreshments, even the nearby pub has been recently demolished.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A vast expanse of sand and sea and natural beauty”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mother's from Barrow in Furness, though we now live in Leeds, so I've known Earnse Bay all my life. Today, with my husband, we visited with my mother (89) and her best friend from school (also 89) - she married my Mum's cousin and we've always been close. So none of the categories of visitor fits - - but we all had a lovely time walking on this beautiful beach in the sunshine. One tip for visiting this lovely beach - - it is always, ALWAYS breezy even on a hot day so do take some warm clothes (and if you like flying kites, this is the place!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaphneFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Earnse Bay...blow the cobwebs off.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Super place...great beach walks. Fresh air and sand. Once down on the shore you instantly lose site of human habitation. Wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAZPOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wind turbines”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Poor Earnse Bay what a mess with all the wind turbines offshore.
I always loved it on a clear day to see the Isle of Man but all you see now is blooming wind turbines

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earnse Bay also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Earnse Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing