We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy and family orientated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maindee Guest House
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cosy and family orientated”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was clean and food was cooked fresh. Really enjoyed the cooked breakfast

It was close to the town centre and rooms was nice a d clean very quiet area.
The owners was really nice and friendly
I would definitely recommend anyone who like to chose a excellent value hotel is to book maindee guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Maindee is cosy, clean, good value and only a few minutes away from the town centre. Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily and come with free wifi, Freeview TV and complimentary tea and coffee that is also replenished daily. Rooms are not hugely fancy, but are private, fresh and comfortable. And, though well located, any road noise was negligible for me, though this might differ slightly depending on room location.
But the best part about my stay was that the family it is run by are so welcoming and accommodating. They make sure to take time out to chat with all their guests and were very flexible with any requests I had.
Many staying at Maindee, including myself, are busy contract workers, but the staff here made a challenging part of my life just that little bit easier. For example, they allowed me to travel to see family whenever I needed to and would not charge me for the nights I was away, while saving my room for me while I was gone and storing any bulkier items in the intervening time with no additional charge. They showed genuine care and compassion for me during my time here, and I really did feel safe.
Small niggles that could be improved upon include the breakfast menu - though filling and reasonable, the full English misses the point somewhat. While it does come with a fair amount of bacon, it only offers a single slice of toast, a single sausage, one egg and a very small dollop of baked beans, and is overall quite dry. It's more of an English Breakfast Lite, really.
The family running Maindee are Chinese, and also run their own takeaway that provides good amounts of tasty Chinese food. However, given that the takeaway is so close to the guest house, the fact the two are connected and the guest house plugs the takeaway and offers to order their food in for you, I was somewhat surprised when a £2.50 delivery charge was discretely added to my bill, which had not been mentioned. This could be avoided by simply taking a short walk to the restaurant and ordering directly - so I would strongly recommend you learn from my mistake!
Maindee also have a little chihuahua, which I did not have a problem with as I love animals - he's harmless and a bit daft and they keep well out of the way in their own living quarters, but the little guy can be a bit yappy towards guests approaching the house and passing by the foyer, which I can imagine would bother others more.
Nevertheless, Maindee is quite possibly the most homely guest house a vagrant worker such as myself could have hoped for, and I would definitely recommend it to others seeking a good value, basic base with respectful personnel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

clean
pleasant
free wi fi
good breakfast
value for money

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andywillis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stayed here for just one night as I was working in the area. This was everything a B&B should be a clean, pleasant and comfortable room followed by a decent breakfast . I will certainly stay again if I'm in Barrow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SWP479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lisdoonie Hotel
Lisdoonie Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
60 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maindee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maindee Guest House

Property: Maindee Guest House
Address: 75 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run little guest house since 1991. We are in the prime location of Barrow-in-Furness. Our breakfast menu have different choices including full English breakfast, Omelette, Porridge etc... Free WIFI through out the premise. Opposite to the beautiful Barrow park and next to the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maindee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing