We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bosuns Locker Cafe

Bosuns Locker Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great little café. Good food, very reasonable prices , large portion sizes. Suggest you book a table as it gets very busy

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    55
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Awful overcooked food , at the take away section , fish n chips , expensive , not nice . we wont be going back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tankie61f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Bosun should be demoted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Bosun's Locker has been going downhill for sometime. The food was still of reasonable quality and price, but the coffee was poor. The biggest let down was the staff, who appear totally unaware of any concept of food hygiene or customer service. Their clothes and hands were quite stained and dirty, their manner was certainly unhelpful and verging on rudeness. Certainly won't visit again until ther is a change of ownership

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I visit here with my nan quite oftern,my nan loves this place and so do I. The food is always hot and fresh and really tasty. All the staff are really friendly and helpful. In the summer they have an outdoor seating area which is really nice. I would really recommend this place as you have spectacular views of piel island and on a clear day you can see blackpool

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, little local cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were staying right next door on the island so thought we would give it a try. I had a lovely soup which tasted homemade and was nice and fresh with a warm hot roll, my husband had a burger with lovely chips and salad. There is out door seating and you order from the till and then the food is brought to you. How lucky the local people are to have something so nice on their doorstep.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosuns Locker Cafe also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Bosuns Locker Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing