We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel”
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed here with my gran on Saturday 8th March after winning a complimentary stay. Upon arrival the building itself is absolutely stunning, the young lady on reception was very friendly and very welcoming (and helpful!). Our room was beautiful, huge bed, very clean and modern bathroom, lovely view from our room and it also included plenty of tea and coffee facilities.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, we had to wait a while for a table but that wasn't much of a problem for us, head waiter was very attentive, food was delicious (we had the fish and chips) and the overall service was fantastic. The only thing that ruined it for us was being woken up by the fire alarm at 3am. This wasn't anybody's fault; however this was the only fault. If this hadn't of happened, it would have been the perfect stay. Breakfast was fabulous, lots of choice - hot and cold.
Overall, I would absolutely stay here again, I would love to return to see the refurbishment!
Thankyou for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Many thanks for your review Hannah, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Abbey House Hotel & Gardens. I'll be sure to pass your kind words across to the team.
Please accept my apologies for the false alarm, it's always at the best times! but it is for our guests safety and wellbeing and hope your were able to get back to sleep without to much disturbance.
The main public areas are now open, with Oscar's now taking dining bookings.
I hope to see you back soon to enjoy all the wonderful changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Having just returned from an overnight stay at the Abbey House Hotel, I cannot praise it enough . Although the main hotel is undergoing refurbishment, the annex turned out to be really lovely - bright, clean and very comfortable. The bedrooms are well appointed, clean and nicely decorated, the bed extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, bright and again, spotlessly clean.The staff couldn't do enough for us - from booking a taxi to ensuring that our order for evening meal (gorgeous by the way!) was rushed through and served within 15 mins of ordering so that we would not miss our taxi. The night porter, John, made sure we had an endless supply of hot toast and butter when we returned, late, from our night out. What a refreshing change to be looked after so well and made to feel that nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks very much indeed for your kind words. The beds in the annex side are truly comfortable aren't they! The team at Abbey House are always happy to go the extra mile to ensure all of our guest experiences are memorable ones. I do hope you return after the refurbishment and experience an even greater level of enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked into this hotel for one night on a friday. Booked into the Cavenish Suite and I have never seen anything like it. Tv in the wall in the batheroom a very large bath and a bed I could have slept in for the rest of my life. The hotel itself is beautiful set in a lovely landscaped setting. A stone throw away from Furness Abbey.
The staff are really friendly I will be staying again. My wedding will be booked here for sure. It was deffo worth the visit and travelling from Manchester

Room Tip: ask for the cavendish room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndseyB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I was so glad to read of your enjoyable stay. I met so many wonderful people at the recent Etihad Stadium Wedding Fair and I am very pleased you are going to hold your very special day with Abbey House Hotel.
The lodge where you stayed is an ideal place for our brides to get ready on the morning of the big day with the hotel just a stones throw away.
I look forward to seeing you both again and we can start planning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mineli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank raistlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled on business
1  Thank Chema L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhtl, General Manager at Abbey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
20.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
431 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel & Gardens has recently undergone a multi million refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House Hotel Barrow-In-Furness
Abbey Hotel Barrow In Furness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing