We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique!”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrow-in-Furness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Big, well laid out rooms. Extremely comfortable memory foam mattress, Big fluffy robes and slippers and truly unique views of the castle and surrounding sea! All for such a cheap price! Don't even get me started on the food! Felt like we were in foody heaven all topped off with a genuinely fantastic staff who really do go the extra mile for everyone....and then a few more miles!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited piel island for the day, which is a lovely little place. However, the breakfast here was not very good! Everyone ordered the full English breakfast, and I ordered a veggie breakfast. My beans were cold and the lady did not seem happy about me asking her to warm them up. Also the other three breakfasts, which were supposed to have beans, arrived without them and we didn't say anything due to the reaction to my complaint. Finally, there were a couple of other tables who seemed friendly with the staff who also ordered the breakfasts, when there's arrived they seemed to be almost twice the size of ours, with ours squeezed onto little plates. Great island but Food experience not so good!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Antonia_h-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We travel over regularly from Northern Ireland to visit Piel and enjoy the hospitality of King Steve and Queen Sheila! We're always made to feel incredibly welcome by them and the great crowd who are regualry in attendance in the pub. Our four year old daughter loves it there as she can feed the animals and look for crabs at low tide!

The rooms are outstanding, with memory foam mattresses and lovely en suite facilities, and the views of the castle out the bedroom widows are fantastic! The real gem though is King Steves cooking, a fantastic and varied menu, including pork from their own rare breed pigs! Have to say the best suasages I've ever tasted (also from their piggies)! Wash it down with some of the local cask ales and you're laughing!

Please please visit, and you'll love it as much as we do, I promise!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norma637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

BRILLIANT Fantastic Weekend, with family friends and of course the Royalty on the Island. Steve Sheila and the rest of the crew could not do enough for us,The pub at night time was brilliant with everyone joining in the craic the food Steve prepared was second to none,anybody who has not been to Peil should get themselves there and meet some great people enjoy great food and amzing scenery.Thanks again Steve,Sheila and the crew for making our weekend special.Len

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Walked over to the island midweek, and arrived just about tea-time. What a wonderful mini-break.

We visit the island regularly and I've watched the renovation of the pub with interest, but this was the first time we've stayed there. It won't be the last time though!

Because it was mid-week, and the days preceding our visit had been rainy, there were no campers on the island. This meant that whilst we were wandering around the castle at twilight, it really seemed as though we had the whole place to ourselves.

The rooms in the pub are wonderfully kept, simply but extremely tastefully furnished, and very comfortable indeed.

The menu is varied and everything we had was well cooked and nicely presented. One of our party has special dietary requirements, and this was accommodated with no problem - probably best to advise first, however, when booking!

Thanks to the King of Piel and his entourage (landlord and staff) for a wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roose_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Just back from a last minute booking of a night on the Island of PIEL..Accessed by ferry from Roa Island this quant little hotel on an island just off the mainland in Furness is a true jewel in the Furness crown.The first glimpse of thefamily run hotel belies what luxury awaits inside.This newly refurbished small hotel & rooms have been improved totally in keeping with the area yet you will get all the trimmings of a much larger establishment.We found our ensuite room had robes & slippers provided as standard,good quality bathroom products, wonderfully fluffy towels and a memory foam mattress ensured we had one of the best nights sleep in a long time.There's a castle too !
The children will be well catered for ,the Chatterways keep their own pigs, goats, ducks,hens & even a turkey. Two bunkhouse rooms are available and these too are of a good standard & would sleep a family of 4, both with woodburning stoves.I defy anyone to eat the breakfast which is locally sourced produce.I can't recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I absolutely love Piel. I have been regularly going for the last 10 years but can honestly say that since Steve and Sheila have taken over, it has never been better. The atmosphere is fantastic and friendly, the food is amazing, the new rooms are beatiful and the island is a little paradise. My kids love it and haven't asked to go anywhere else on holiday for years (and they are teenagers now). I could go on forever but I would urge you to try it for yourself. I'm sure you'll fall in love with it like me and my husband have.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NinaMaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
1.5 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
711 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie
0.4 mi away
Crofters Lodge
Crofters Lodge
#1 of 7 in Barrow-in-Furness
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jeffersons Hotel
Jeffersons Hotel
#2 of 19 in Barrow-in-Furness
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Yarlside Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn offers a very relaxed stay in beautiful surrounding for a total chill out time away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing