We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Mount House
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Majestic(Barrow-in-Furness)
$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperial(Barrow-in-Furness)
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
28
3
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedfriendly hostsclose to town centrelovely roomnight stayguesthousewifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 34 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only stayed two nights but the stay was great, the bed was so comfy we just fell asleep as soon as we got in. The breakfast was a lovely cooked full English fresh and tasty with plenty of cereals and fruit to choose from. The hotel is not far from the centre with a big car park for residents. And a pub within walking distance for meals and a drink. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area

Room Tip: Room 2 had a big bay window and a massive very comfy bed, with big walk in shower.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at East Mount House for one night. When I arrived, they were expecting me, so no long check ins and I was shown up to my room straight away. Nice, comfortable and clean room with en suite and TV in room. It was quiet in the night despite my room facing the main road. Plenty of parking outside in their own private parking area. Breakfast was really nice. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. I couldn't fault East Mount House. It takes around 5-10 mins drive (depending on traffic lights!) to get into Barrow town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here on the 2nd - 5th April 2013 staying for 3 nights in a single room.

This bed and breakfast is in a good location with buses to the station, town centre and going the other way to Ulverston and Kendal.

The accomodation provided was of an excellent quality. My room was en-suite with complimentary breakfast and the facility of a microwave to cook meals which I used to lessen the costs of going out for a meal.

The staff at this bed and breakfast are friendly and welcoming and I would strongly recommend this bed and breakfast. The price of the accomodation was of good value as well.

In addition I would like to add and say Barrow in Furness is not as bad as some would believe the town is a great place to explore Walney Island and the Furness Peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It is difficult to fault this Barrow Guest House. It is not a 5 or 4 star Hotel, but neither does it present itself as such.

It does present itself as clearly in the top 10% of the 3 star ETB Guest House hospitality area it operates in.

Spotlessly clean. Nicely decorated rooms with a touch of style. Comfortable bed. Good strong walk in electric shower that does the job well. Big towels. Nice touches in the room. Freeview TV that works. Comfortable and welcoming.

Wi-Fi for free that works. Good fresh breakfast with quality ingredients. Great Coffee. Big Screen TV "lounge" off the dining room. Private Car Park.

Friendly and informal owners who work hard to ensure your stay is A1. Obviously much appreciated by regulars. I would rate this 4 star ETB easily, they are currently 3 star , but they probably do not tick some of the 4 star ETB boxes such as "matching wooden coat hangers". They tick all the ones I would value.

Could I improve? Not a lot. It is a good walk to the town centre, I would advise walking to the town and a £4 taxi back, perhaps a deal could be done by the owners with a local taxi co or even just guests supplied with a taxi card to call. En suite - little sachets provided rather than little soaps, I think a mix of both is better, or handwash bottles and soaps. External signage is poor, dull and suggests a lower grade than they supply, just advice to the owners, but advice to customers not to be put off.

Top notch, value, reliable Guest house, bearing 3 stars, but worthy of 4.

If you found this review helpful, please look for and click the relevant button.

Barrow ....enjoy...I did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SirBrianMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 1 night at East Mount. Booked family room for my self, partner and 10 year old grandson. The room was excellent, and couldn't have asked for anything better. The room was massive, with loads of room. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and nice towels etc.
Also had flat screen tv on the wall. For breakfast we have choice of cereals, fresh fruit and any cooked item we wanted. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would give it 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews