We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than your average pub b&b!”
Review of Jeffersons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jeffersons Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I came to barrow twice in 2 weeks for short stays as my partner is working in the area. The hotel is lovely, clean and in an ideal location for everything. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The food is reasonably priced and breakfast is fantastic! I will not stay anywhere else when visiting barrow in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle150510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms, which was nicely presented. Everything you'd expect - decent bathroom with shower cubicle, comfortable bed, TV, free wifi, etc. Best bit for me is that downstairs is the pub, which did a range of meals for lunch and dinner, all at a good price. This meant I didn't have to go out looking for somewhere to eat, saving time as I was on a business trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikePepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

When i travel back to my home town, it’s always good to have those home comforts, what better place than right in the heart of the town and with all mod cons around you. At Jefferson’s you will find just that with the fully serviced apartments that they have, you get a substantially equipped Kitchen, with full cooking and washing facilities, including the coffee and tea as you would in most hotels, a lounge / diner with comfy sofa, TV and DVD player, more than adequately sized bedroom with real wood furniture and a bathroom which contains a luxury bath and shower. These apartments are decorated to an exceptionally high standard and all serviced for an exceptionally low price, Inc. free WI-FI. All the staff are very accommodating and there is a restaurant at hand if you wish which serve excellent selection of food at a great standard. All in all a most relaxing visit back to Barra and will be definitely looking at staying there if available.
Thank Jefferson’s.

Room Tip: If you like doing your own thing book the apartment. Its like having your own flat at hotel standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Accommodation was average although not suitable for families being on a busy street particularly at night. Main issue was with the attitude of the manager who was rude to myself and I also witnessed this with other customers. Other staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, and was more than happy with my stay here!
The rooms are of a very very high standard (newly built) with more than enough room for couples or a small family. the bed was large and very comfortable.
The shower was big and the bathroom suite was really really nicely decorated.
The evening meals in the pub were really good quality and good taste.
I would certainly stay here again, and plan to in April
The staff would do anything you asked and more.

Room Tip: Get a new build room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is a very nice place to stay we were working in barrow for a long time and chose to stay here and am so glad we did rooms were brilliant evening meals were great and very good portion sizes and the best bit were the staff very friendly and we stayed up a few times and had a few drinks with them. Hope to see you all soon chris and your team, as we are back up in the area to work please send me your number again chris as i deleted it by mistake and we will see you all soon. Mark and Gary Brittannic Lifts

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Now that cooked breakfast is served its even better.

Nice small rooms with all the things you need.

I generally stay here on business at least once a month and now choose this hotel only.

Dinner is generous portions.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Rishi_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris-jono, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Many thanks for your comments, the addition of a cooked breakfast has gone down really well with our guests and is now included in all room rates. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
1.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeffersons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeffersons Hotel

Address: 60-64 Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $111 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jeffersons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeffersons Hotel is located in the centre of Barrow In Furness. We are a five minute walk from the train station and a similar distance to BAE systems. We offer 20 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TVs and 3 luxury apartments. Breakfast is served from 6.45am - 9.00am with bar meals served in our bar area from 11am - 8pm seven days a week. We aim to offer a good value for money experience for our guests and employ a long serving team of staff who consistently deliver the service our guests have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jeffersons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing