We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Buy your snacks before you go

Clean and nearly warm enough. Good range of films but not cheap. Prices for drinks and snacks are... read more

Reviewed April 10, 2018
973SimonR973
,
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
via mobile
Captive audience

This is now part of Vue Cinemas. Living in Barrow we are a bit of a captive audience at the end of... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2017
973SimonR973
,
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
6
16
17
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
16
17
12
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a change a price reduction makes, the cinema was packed on a Tuesday night. It was great to see that people are still going out and enjoying the cinema. Well done Vue cinema for the great price of £4.99 and people have responded to this.

Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

great value at only £4.99 per person will certainly be visiting more often
on this occasion we went to watch the incredibles 2 .good film nice surroundings

Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Clean and nearly warm enough. Good range of films but not cheap. Prices for drinks and snacks are ridiculous, a bag is sweets £1 in Tesco or Morrison’s cost £3.30! Inordinate wait in the queue while three girls chose their drinks, snack popcorn trays, you could easily miss the start of your feature.

Thank 973SimonR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

I wouldn’t bother coming back here, the place is terrible.
It’s absolutely freezing.
They leave bright lights on during the entire movie.
Seats are small, very little leg room.
Overall outdated and uncomfortable.
Needs refurbished immediately.

2  Thank danaa541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends, only £4.99 per person, all ages. The seats were labelled wrong in screen 6 at the back, but it was a standard cinema experiance. It's no longer called "Apollo cinema" by the way, it's now a "Vue cinema".

Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

I have brought ear plugs to this cinema several times because the audio is so loud during the adverts that it drives me insane. These ads are usually around 40 mins long, and are punctuated with the 'wow isn't this sound system awesome' booming and rippling, overused sound effects that accompany any system demo when the owners are showing off. Just torture I'm afraid. Staff are friendly.

Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Cold screens untidy and management don’t know what they are doing I would never watch a film there again and I would never recommend anyone going there to

Thank jdman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

This is now part of Vue Cinemas. Living in Barrow we are a bit of a captive audience at the end of a thirty mile cul de sac. Good range of films and new releases simultaneously with the rest of the country. Went to see Dunkirk, great film reasonable seats and cost but too cold and too loud. 16 degrees outside, about 12 inside. The film from the screen next door was too loud as well. Helpful staff, extortionate prices for drinks etc, £2.85 for a small bottle of water? I noticed there is now a bar fridge with a small selection of drinks, I shudder to think what these might cost. You are now allowed to bring in your own drinks and snacks which is much cheaper especially if you are accompanied by several children. Plenty of parking. 35 minutes of adverts from the scheduled start time until the feature began. Would I go again? To save petrol, yes!

Thank 973SimonR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

Went with my daughter to see latest planet of the apes installment. Movie was good. Price ok at £4.99 each. My daughter got a tray of popcorn, a medium drink, and a chocolate bar for £3.98- reasonable. However in cinema 4, there is a lingering damp smell which is borderline unpleasant. It needs a good clean. Just because you sit in the dark doesn't mean your senses don't work. The only other problem, was the kid in front of me who wanted to watch his phone rather than the film. Soon sorted him out.

Thank jillmccarthy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

At the moment the cinema price is 4.99 for adults. Tuesday all day is also cheaper at 3.99. The staff are very helpul.

Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews