We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulo Gianni's - CLOSED

Paulo Gianni's
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Newly reopened and back as good as always. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, very nice tasty food. Xx

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

food eas lovely staff polite and helpful definatley go again nice clean restaurant great atmoshpere would go again

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank judith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Paulo Giannis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ate at PG's this evening 15.08.2012 great service and good food had not been for a year or two great improvement in both food, service and decor. Norma - Barrow in Furness

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Normski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Cumbrae, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

After heading into Town late in the evening to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary last Wednesday, our first choice had stopped serving. We carried on walking down Cavendish Street and were pleasantly surprised to find that Paulo Gianni's had once again returned to Barrow.

Calling in and asking if they were still serving food , we were immediately greeted by a friendly member of staff, and shown to our table, where drinks orders were taken while we looked over the varied and well priced menu.

Service was attentive, and although there was a fairly large party on a nearby table as well as
a few other tables our orders were taken, and food arrived with little delay and a friendly delivery. At one point in the evening, a soft drink order was missed (while the large party was checking out), and when the waiter came over later to check all was OK, he immediately asked if my drink had arrived, apologised and brought one on the house.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Food was lovely, we had mackerel starter/soup and chilli beef/ lamb dishes well cooked and presented. My main comment relates to the friendly staff, who obviously know the meaning of hospitality and seemed to enjoy their evening as much as we did. There are many places that serve good food, but the best food served by a surley staff member will always leave a bad taste.

Glad to know that Paulo's is back in Town, those that are put off as I was by the former establishment need not worry, We look forward to going back.

Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinaG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Went last night before attending a show. Hadn't booked but were squeezed in quickly when we told the staff we had to be out before 8pm. Food was excellent and my husbands face was a picture when the bill for 2 main courses came to just £5.98!! Lovely food and great staff :-)

Helpful?
Thank Lolly510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo Gianni's also viewed

Newton in Furness, Barrow-in-Furness
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing