We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”
Review of Lisdoonie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisdoonie Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stay in the Barrow area a lot on business, and have stayed at this hotel many times, i say its a hotel it is more like a home from home, the staff will always stop and have a chat, the rooms are more like a guest house than a hotel, its in need of modernisation but always clean and comfortable. the chef's specials each night are good and the potions are LARGE, and with a couple days notice Dave (Chef) will cook you a meal of your choice, there is a nice public house on the other side of the road "The Strawberry" which always lively.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
22
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in the lisdoonie hotel while I attended a wedding. The rooms are perfect for what you need the wedding reception was well put together with the tables and decor of the main room looking amazing it made the bride and grooms day a great one. The staff are friendly and are always there to help you. The food that was prepared for the wedding was beautiful I couldn't fault it one bit. The choice of breakfast was great a real good selection of cooked breakfast cereal or fruit..etc.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jet2jimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I attended a wedding there, and stayed in a single room. The staff were more than friendly, really accommodating.The main hall was perfect for the wedding, the tables looked excellent when dressed and the room turned into a dance floor later on. There are two bars available to use as well. Breakfast was tasty and offered a variety of items. Diddn't have chance to use room service, the hotel was perfect for the wedding and accommadated all the guests, brilliant stay and welcoming staff, what else could you do in Barrow? I have no idea, Don't be put off by the decor, it really is value for money :)
One more thing, the room sizes for families are great, nice big rooms!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean. There was a sports dinner being held there on our first night and a wedding reception on our second night but our room was quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts were delicious.
We would definitely stay at the Lisdoonie again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetplant840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Lovely comfortable family room with plenty of space (we had 2 dogs with us too!) and nice to see that since our last visit the bathroom flooring had been renewed. As always the staff were friendly and helpful & even advised us on where to take our dogs for walks. The meals were excellent & good value for money.

Room Tip: Just give them your requirements & they do their best to fulfill that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay at the Lisdoonie, no complaints what so ever. I toold them roughly what time I would be arriving, someone was in reception waiting on our arrival. Compaired with some hotels the rooms were spacious and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We complained about the kettle in our room, on our return we had a new one. We asked in advance if we could have a shower in our room, as the wife had a shoulder injury and could not use a bath, we got a room with a shower. We were there for a funeral, and asked if our room could be cleaned last as we needed to get ready for the funeral, no problem. Beware with the evening meals, as they are huge portions, have something light lunchtimes. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We came to Barrow for a family occasion. First impressions on arrival was that the hotel could do with a bit of an update, but the staff were friendly and even arranged a taxi for us for our evening out. The room we stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, because we were out for the evening we didn't eat at the hotel but breakfast in the morning was good. We have stayed in Barrow before but closer to the town which we found could be quite noisy. The Lisdoonie is ideally placed, in a quiet location but close enough to the town. This will definately be our hotel of choice the next time we come to Barrow

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnime201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdoonie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdoonie Hotel

Property: Lisdoonie Hotel
Address: 307 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisdoonie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lisdoonie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing