We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough time”
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not enough time”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great pub with great choice of very well kept beers and great food, The barman very welcoming and freindly. This how pubs should be ! Had a bar meal which was very nice with great beers, I could have stayed alday but Hotel waiting. If in the area strongly recommend a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    156
    37
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute delight!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have eaten at the Masons Arms several times and have never been disappointed. It is situated in a beautiful location and is a quaint place away from the crowds. Having said that, the place is so popular you may have to make your way through a crowd to get to the bar! A truly lovely old building, fantastic real fires and lovely food. I have read some complaints and have to say that I have never had cause to complain about anything. They are so obliging I am sure they would rectify any problem you may have immediately and without fuss. A wonderful place to have a meal after (or during) a drive in the beautiful surrounding are.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy , friendly , lovely food , ambience and excellent selection of beers”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in Newby bridge for a 2 night break and just wanted a nice friendly pub with food for the 2nd night of our stay in the lakes , the masons arms was only a short taxi ride from our accommodation but proved well worth it. The friendly staff and the excellent food and beer was exactly what we were looking for . The welcoming warmth and real fire was exactly what we needed on this cold rainy January evening. The laughing gravy beer was excellent and I bought a couple of bottles to bring home, the food ( ribs for the wife and trio of Cumberland sausages for me) was excellent , we had our eye on the bread and butter pudding for desert but the portions for main were good and so never sampled the desert. Don't be confused by the address this pub is east of lake Windermere and not on the coast as some websites placed it )). We will back for our bread and butter pud sometime in the future ) well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy pretty pub”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Strawberry beer - fabulous
Steak and Peppercorn sauce - stunning
Ribs - fantastic
Service - faultless
Location - middle of nowhere but perfect
Ambience - great, cosy pub with nice decor and cosy rooms to take a drink or eat

Only issue is that this pub is about 2 hours away from where we live and we are desperate to come back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Food and a wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Having heard good reports about this place we felt we had to try it whilst staying close by. We called in a couple of times for drinks late afternoon and the atmosphere was so welcoming and cosy. We booked a table for boxing day evening and were not dissappointed by the food nor the service which was attentive but not intrusive. The menu was varied, prices reasonable and it was good to be able to have lighter portions so as to leave just enough room for a pudding! Overall the food was excellent and it was a perfect evening.
Just a shame they were no longer giving out their vouchers as advertised on their website apparently they had run out!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jollyholsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing