We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Masons Arms

The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

OK, but no longer the 'must visit' pub it used to be. Reviews on here indicate that it has changed hands, which explains a lot.

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    147
    30
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington,England
Level Contributor
324 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal At The Masons Arms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Ate here on Saturday night 26/11/11. Food was excellent I had the home made steak and kidney pie, possibly the best that I have ever had. Warm and friendly atmosphere with large selection of ales. Although busy it was nothing like when we visited in summer. Go now and avoid the crowds!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Crofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great location with fine views and outdoor dining. Pub area downstairs is olde worlde but book a table upstairs in the dining rooms and it rather nice, same food on both floors. Friendly staff and decent service combine with very good food for what is also a real ale pub. Have eaten here dozens of times and it's always good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Brierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I took my wife to the Masons Arms on a sunny evening as the view is beautiful. However, the evening quickly went downhill. The Manager ? considered our unbelievably small portions were good value and that no one else ever complains !!. We were told if we wanted anything else then we needed to pay again for another meal.
It was best to leave and avoid any confrontation and pass on the bad news to everyone else. Make no mistakes about The Masons, you will be grossly over charged and like so many others you will need a lot of time waiting for a very poor meal - take some sandwiches with you, you'll leave hungry and not very happy !!!.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harriets7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Went for lunch with my partner, it is not the easiest place to find, but worth the effort. The bar area itself is tiny, but find yourself somewhere to sit and the staff take care of the rest. Beer prices are a liitle on the high side, but not excessive, the lunch time menu was limited but everything coming out of the kitchen looked good. They use local produce, which is to be admired and everything was freshly cooked. The view from the garden is spectacular. we both enjoyed our lunch and would certainly come here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barneveld0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masons Arms also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing