We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albert

The Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Albert hotel welcomes you to the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. Just a stone's throw from England largest lake,Lake Windermere.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice pub with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was nice and warm after having spent the day walking. We liked the live music, and the distribution of ages of people was varied which was nice.

The food (pie and caesar salad) were very good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krzysztof_j_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    637
    141
    45
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
698 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Lively bar/pub/restaurant in Bowness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped off here unexpectedly when passing by. In fact we almost walked past it.

It was a busy Friday night when we visited and the bar was humming with conversation and laughter, with guests of all ages from 18-80 and all clearly enjoying themselves.

The bar staff were entertaining and fun. There is a well stocked bar and ample seating in a variety of settings. A live act was singing on stage too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

There are times when only steak, chips and peppercorn sauce will hit the spot!

This is a really lovely pub with an excellent first floor dining room. The decor was very tasteful, warm and comfortable. We needed food fast as we had to be somewhere else by 7.30. The only fault I can think of is the waitress was slightly gruff and needs to brush up on her people's skills.

The drinks came in reasonable time. My steak was cooked to perfection, tender and very flavoursome. The chips were very crisp and chunky, just how they should be. The peppercorn sauce was so good I was happy to finish off the rather full gravy boat! The mushrooms were fresh and delicious. It's a meal I have thought often about in the last week!

My companions enjoyed their food also, all in all very tasty and beautifully cooked. I look forward to going back there on my next visit to The Lakes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my husband ate here last weekend while having a break in the lakes. this is the 3rd time we have eaten here and every time we have been greeted with friendly staff and the food has been excellent each time. for anyone visiting the lakes and wanting a superb bar meal this is the place to visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely food good service nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Typical pub menu but good wholesome food. I had the best lasagne I have had for a while! There were 13 of us and between us I think we ordered almost everything on the menu and no one was disappointed with their food! We ordered together and were all served within minutes of each other. We sat upstairs and tables were pushed together to accomodate us. Nice atmosphere pleasant staff and good food what more could one ask on a cold rainy January day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing