We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great pub with large portions and great service”
Review of The Albert

The Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Albert hotel welcomes you to the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. Just a stone's throw from England largest lake,Lake Windermere.
St Annes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great pub with large portions and great service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A real good pub serving good pub food with huge portions for the prices. The pub is always busy but service is never slow. The perfect place to eat after a long walk on the fells. They have an extensive range of drinks with local ales well represented all courses are huge the fish and chips being especially so, even the cheese board is enough for two.
The best pub in Bowness bar non.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hiker109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    689
    155
    47
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“b an b”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed there and down stairs is fine but the rooms need tlc! the food looks nice but so much of it it puts me off breakfast is nice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gem87NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Promised a lot delivered little”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I popped in here for a light lunch, the outside is very welcoming and the lunch menu seemed very appealing. The bar/restaurant area was very clean and tidy and welcoming. The bar man was very friendly and chatty. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and a baked potato with prawn marie rose, and a club sandwich. While sat waiting for our food we couldn't help noticing other peoples orders which looked nice, which sadly only compounded our dissapointment when our food arrived. The club sandwich was just three slices of average shop bought white bread coated heavily with marg spread, the filling consisted of thick bland oversized pieces of chicken and ham and sliced tomato, Ihave had club sandwiches before and this was a long way off what I was expecting, no seasoning, no salad, no toasting of bread, I was shocked that they actually had the nerve to offer this as a club sandwich. The baked potato was overcooked, causing it to be tough and bland and the filling was average. With so many other places to eat in Bowness I would recommend giving this one a miss. We certainly will be next time we visit this beautiful part of the country.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we had burger and the lamb dinner it was very nice food and the staff were friendly. close to our hotel and in walking distance

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great if you are hungry.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good portions, well cooked with a nice twists on the standard pub grub. We ate there on 3 evenings. Normally ordered just before 18:00. There is a smaller choice of specials but the quality & service was very good. The only mistake they made was on out last night when they served up a starter instead of a desert. It was rectified. what was servered by mistake looked very nice indeed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing