We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Albert Hotel”
Review of The Albert

The Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Albert hotel welcomes you to the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. Just a stone's throw from England largest lake,Lake Windermere.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Albert Hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've recently returned from a holiday in Bowness. We thought that we would give the Albert Hotel another try. They now require you to pay for the food and drink that you want at Dinner in the evening, in advance , as you would do at Lunchtime. Sorry, but we didn't like the idea and ate elsewhere. This new procedure is fine for a bar meal at Lunchtime, but isn't really what we wanted to do on a family occasion for an evening meal. We don't know why this new rule has come about, but this is one family that WON'T be eating there, at night, anymore. Clearly we can't complete the ratings below as we didn't stay to eat. We wouldn't put anybody off eating there at Lunchtime, as that is the norm for bar meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VELAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    662
    147
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic pub food. Better than expected and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended, especially on a wet and cold British winter day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshallO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food excellent dining room”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were recommended this hotel and we were glad we found it, the food was great, the restaurant upstairs was of high quality, and cost was very reasonable. Would defiantly eat there again, when in Lake District . Staff very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Went here after reading the glowing reviews on TA. We shared the pork rib starter between 3 and there was plenty to go around,ribs were very tender the sauce had a spicy kick to it.We all had a burger which were standard pub style, reasonably tasty but I very much doubt they were home made as the menu claimed.This is my main complaint about this place,a lot of the items on the menu claimed to be home made (the rib sauce,the burgers and burger relish)but it seemed to us to have come from a jar or freezer.
Standard chain pub food, sadly this seems to be the norm these days.Had a much better lunch in the Angel Inn last week, a bit more expensive but superior quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pre-dinner drinks”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Reasonably priced warm and friendly bar. Nice surroundings on two floors so no problem finding seats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CazKevetAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing