We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont go” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albert

The Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Albert hotel welcomes you to the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. Just a stone's throw from England largest lake,Lake Windermere.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“dont go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

went for sunday dinner 5 of us, 1 bar staff waited long time to be served, dinner is that what you call it ha ha ha, my god my children would still be hungry after that, my dinner & others had no yorkshire pudding the veg came nearly at the end of lunch, we told 2 staff we had no veg they just give evil looks, a dam disgrace they dont give a dam, the amount we got was disgusting not feed a child beleive me well worth avoiding, useless staff stingy pub ive said it for now but one more thing its bringing the name of bowness down

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    616
    137
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“as good as any top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Jewel in the crown of bowness,they do a fantastic roast dinner on a sunday you must really try them.You should see the yorkshire puddings that go with the roast beef dinner wow,the puddings are yummy too,the staff are excellent as a team ,very efficient in what they do even when it's bursting at the seams,we visited the albert twice.Other restaurant staff could learn from the albert staff .The food is as good as any top restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank longhair25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We popped in here during the day on our first day in Bowness. We had a drink and sat outside and thought it would be nivce to return for dinner later. The menu wasnt extensive but there was enough choice and the prices seemed reasonable. I had steak and my partner had shepherds pie. Both cooked just right and the service was pretty fast despite the fact that it was Friday night and pretty busy. The only negative comment is that the staff looked a bit lazy and didnt really want to be there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LAZY, COULDN'T BE BOTHERED BAR STAFF.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Whilst staying in Bowness recently, we were recommended the Albert for an evening meal. However, on arrival there were no tables available but the friendly waitress said she could seat us in about 15 minutes. That sounded fine so we decided to stand at the bar for a drink whilst we were waiting. The problem started there. There were lots of people waiting to be served but there wasn't an ounce of work in the all male bar staff. Sauntering about and looking totally disinterested, they seemed to do anything rather than serve drinks. From picking up a piece of paper and disappearing into the kitchen to messing around with the till, they all seemed to be leaving it to the other. Bad service..

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SQUEEGY1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Food fantastic , wife had the fish was more like a whale cooked perfect in light crispy batter , I had the beef burger very tasty worth every penny

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing