We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International Quality with Local Food”
Review of Roberto's - CLOSED

Roberto's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“International Quality with Local Food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We enjoyed a great meal at Roberto's, in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere, having arrived on a Friday evening without a booking. Considering that the restaurant is fairly small, we were pleasantly surprised by this. Overall the ambience is cosy and welcoming. The staff were very prompt and attentive.

The food was simply excellent, with a reasonable range of dishes and a good number of daily specials. The specials included four meat dishes, two fish dishes and a vegetarian dish. All of the food is locally sourced and prepared beautifully. The desserts were also mouthwatering.

The wine list was rather short, with only a few varietal choices. Importantly for a family restaurant, there was a fair proportion of wines available by the glass or half bottle.

Overall, a really good Italian restaurant and one of the best meals we have had on this trip, with very good value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    161
    41
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked in advance and were pleased we did as it was obviously busy and people were being turned away. The food was quite pricey but it was nice. We had the belly pork and black pudding and a nice bottle of red to wash it down. We would probably eat here again when staying in Bowness.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

as a local we look for great little restaurants that are consistently good, with great service, great food and a nice ambience. This place ticks all the boxes for us. Will keep coming back and look forward to enjoying another meal soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LordRaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“birthday visiet”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I booked this restaurant 2 weeks in advance as a birthday meal for my friends while we stayed in bowness for the weekend before Christmas. My husband and I have dined there before back in 2012 and was very impressed. This year we arrived early wet and cold and had a very warm welcome and shown to our table in the window downstairs the place was not full for the week before Christmas the starter and wine very good pate/prawns/mushrooms main meals very good my husband and friend had the belly pork and black pudding dish of the board it is suppose to be there best seller we had the beef not over impressed one little complaint when the veg was served 4 individual pots we all lifted our lids to find we had all got broccoli when I asked if they had made a mistake was told no only broccoli tonight a bit strange when we paid round £22.00 per each main meal we all did agree a liitle expensive for nothing special don't think we will be in any rush to return .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Frequent user”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We use this Restuarant every year we visit bowness and I must say we are never disappointed. A very warm and friendly atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff but not overpowering. Ambience is wonderful. Food is tasty and plentiful and does not break the bank. Good choice of wine. Only tried the red so cannot pass comment on the white. Overall if you only visit one Restuarant whilst in bowness this is the one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brennieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing