We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family house with gorgeous garden”
other travelers have booked this property
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden Light and airy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden
Light and airy living area
Oak flooring and leather furnishings
Dining for six
Watch the local wildlife over breakfast
Dining kitchen fully equipped with modern appliances
Light and airy kitchen
Teal double bedroom
Green double bedroom with views
Bunk room
Bunks, still room to play and storage
Conservatory ideal for cuppa on sunny day
Bath with shower over
Modern tiled mathroom
Sun yourself on the terrace
Roaring fire in Winter
Dining for 6 plus breakfast kitchen for 4
Rear garden looking towards kichen and conservatory
Steps down to covered stream running through garden (covered and kid safe)
Our local pheasant, frequent visitor often with his gal posse
Latest addition to garden, great for morning cuppa!
We said play outside, we didnt expect the laptop to go too!
Aaaaahhhhh.......
Rear of cottage at night, twinkling stars
Take a seat with panoramic view of lake (20 mins walk)
Panormanic view of lake Windermere
Scenery on a spring walk across the fells to the pub
Spring lamb on a sunny day
Local art work above dining area
Parking for 3 cars, enclosed garden and bike storage in shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic family house with gorgeous garden”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great stay at Winterfell cottage. The owners were very helpful, even providing us with an extra booster seat for our twin toddlers (as well as the high chair that is usually available ). The cottage has everything that you need, a real home from home and is comfortable and spacious. The conservatory looks out over the beautiful garden and is lovely to relax in on a summer's evening. There is so much outside space - space for the children to run around and explore and space for the adults to sit and relax! The perfect location for visiting all the sights and attractions around Lake Windermere and beyond. Would love to come back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Thank you for the fabulous review and for being such understanding guests when the tap broke! New tap fully operational now. Please do some back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2018
Thank you so much - please bring your granddaughter back. The garden a wonderland for small children!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsSimpy
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage is situated just outside Bowness. 5 minutes in a taxi if you need it (£6). Location wise it is on the other side of the road from the Storrs Hotel.
The gardens are gorgeous and so tranquil. We had the company of lots of birds including a Grouse.
The cottage itself is very spacious in the living areas, and the bedrooms are comfortable and are of a reasonable size. Bathroom has shower over bath. Shower is excellent.

Great find. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review and for being so helpful when I messed up with a parcel delivery! I promise not to do it again, please do come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilyana G
2 reviews
“Simply the loveliest, homeliest, most well-equipped and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed April 24, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Beautiful, tastefully and thoughtfully done up cottage, offering every comfort for a family with young children. The house offers plenty of space - including a lovely conservatory that we didn't expect - and it all flows beautifully from one room into the next. All sorts of very useful information - everything from appliances' instructions to local places that are worth a visit - were neatly presented in a couple of folders on a sideboard in the dining area.

I was particularly impressed to find a basket full of toys in the children's bedroom. That went down a treat and it was a classy touch. Another one was the presence of books, games and DVDs with films in various genres - we never stayed in long enough to watch a film but it was a nice touch and very thoughtful in case of seriously bad weather.

There was a lovely garden with plenty of quirky little places for children to explore safely. In the mornings, while having our breakfast, we'd be watching birds in the garden which was another source of joy and excitement for the children. There was also a shed that guests were allowed to use which we found very handy.

We found the location just as perfect as the house. There were short walks around and a bit of a forest which the children loved playing in. Bowness is just a short drive away and it offers plenty to look at and do. You can walk from the cottage to Bowness but pavements were often non-existent and the roads very narrow so we didn't feel safe taking the kids walking there. Obviously, the Lake District offers endless opportunities for walking and hiking so having to drive from the cottage to Bowness, rather than walk, was not a problem. There was ample parking available in Bowness and once you've parked the car, well, as I said, there are so many places worth visiting and so much to see.

The ferries on Lake Windermere are very reliable and affordable and the children would have quite happily stayed on them all day long. Also, if you are going with children, I would recommend Brockhole on Windermere. It offers all sorts of fascinating activities for children and adults alike, including archery, pony trekking and boat hire, to name but a few. At Brockhole, there is also an amazing playground which is free.

Last but not least, the owners - Anthony and Oonagh - are a delight to communicate with. Very helpful and friendly which made our stay even better. I just hope that we have been good guests in return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. You were delightful guests. and we would love you to return. The house really is our home from home and we take pride in the fact that our guests seem to love it as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anne w
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long weekend in the Lakes”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely cosy cottage spotlessly clean.
Great position for visiting Windermere and Bowness in particular.
Very well equipped and comfortable especially with the open fire that was great on a very cold and snowy weekend.
Will be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you and agree the fire is lovely on a chilly evening at any time of year. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn’t ask for more!”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Winterfell! We felt at home right from driving through the gate. This well equipped cottage provides for all our needs in a beautiful setting. In spite of the cold snap and some rainy days we were very comfortable. The quiet location and path practically out the door were welcome and the neighbors pleasant. Wonderful place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2017
Thank you and always glad to hear that others enjoy our lovely cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely property, well stocked, perfect location!”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely and cosy property which is well looked after. We had a wonderful weekend stay. Perfect location for visiting The Lakes with some nice walks directly from the house also - which was a bonus. Well stocked kitchen cupboards providing more than ample crockery and utensils. Everything has been well thought of in helping to provide for relaxed and homely stay at Winterfell Cottage.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Thank you and glad you and family had a relaxing time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing