We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House to get you that perfect holiday...”
other travelers have booked this property
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden Light and airy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
No filters used glorious colour in Spring!
Sunny patio in well tended garden
Light and airy living area
Oak flooring and leather furnishings
Dining for six
Watch the local wildlife over breakfast
Dining kitchen fully equipped with modern appliances
Light and airy kitchen
Teal double bedroom
Green double bedroom with views
Bunk room
Bunks, still room to play and storage
Conservatory ideal for cuppa on sunny day
Bath with shower over
Modern tiled mathroom
Sun yourself on the terrace
Roaring fire in Winter
Dining for 6 plus breakfast kitchen for 4
Rear garden looking towards kichen and conservatory
Steps down to covered stream running through garden (covered and kid safe)
Our local pheasant, frequent visitor often with his gal posse
Latest addition to garden, great for morning cuppa!
We said play outside, we didnt expect the laptop to go too!
Aaaaahhhhh.......
Rear of cottage at night, twinkling stars
Take a seat with panoramic view of lake (20 mins walk)
Panormanic view of lake Windermere
Scenery on a spring walk across the fells to the pub
Spring lamb on a sunny day
Local art work above dining area
Parking for 3 cars, enclosed garden and bike storage in shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Saleem F
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful House to get you that perfect holiday in the lakes”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is indeed a fantastic house with plenty of character, especially the garden and the warm bright conservatory. The house is large, comfortable, convenient and perfect for a summer stay. The beds are very comfortable, carpets are cosy and the kitchen is well kitted out. Location is excellent for exploring the lakes.
You do need to be aware that there is a single bathroom/ toilet, so plan carefully.. The wifi connection worked well the first few days and then started to play up - may be this is because of the area.
You will need a car as the Bowness is too far to walk and there is no dedicated path on the 50 mph road side for at least a couple of miles.
Overall, all was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Recommended..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, large rooms and the beds. the location is superb.
Liked least: The bathroom door wouldn't lock, touchy wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for the positive comments. The house does work better for a family/group of 4 due to single bathroom and you will have to kick teenagers out of the shower! We price accordingly. There is a back route walk to Bowness that avoids much of the main road and we will leave directions in the house but I agree not the most pleasant walk in the area. Over the fells above the house much more enjoyable. The wifi is the bane of my life and the solution suggested by BT is that we need to plug into the hub using a cable. Not very 21st century but the best we can do in the area. Fibre on its way I am assured. Future guests please let me know as we can get BT to "clear the line" when needed. We are always happy to get the kids off tablets and out in fresh air instead!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboyd622
Dromara, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Miss It Already”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled with our 4 young children - aged from 10 down to 2. We found the cottage fantastic, fully equipped with everything we needed. Garden was beautiful especially in the mini heatwave we experienced during our stay - the kids called it the "Secret Garden".
We made good use of the bbq and ate out at the patio table quite a bit as we had a week of dry weather!
Cottage is in a very good location in a quiet cul de sac close to Bowness in Windermere which is only a few minutes drive away. Local walks up behind the cottage were also great - the children just loved walking through the forest. A fantastic holiday for us and would love to stay again in this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review. You did have fabulous weather, what a week, I was quite jealous. So glad to hear you and your family got to make the most of it and enjoyed the garden. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squiggles...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in Bowness”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed at Winterfell with our then 16 month old in May. The cottage had everything we needed and we appreciated the use of a high chair, which was provided on request at no extra cost. A travel cot was also available should we have needed one.
As we had our little girl with us we tended to drive to the centre of Bowness rather than walk, as with our day trips, however the cottage is a good base in a lovely location not far from the centre of Bowness.
We were very lucky with the weather whilst there and our daughter enjoyed roaming around the beautiful garden, collecting all the stones. We were also able to enjoy a nice fish 'n' chip tea alfresco with family one evening - as the cottage sleeps 4 adults (6 if you include the 2 bunk beds!) we were able to have family stay with us on a couple of nights which the owners kindly advised was not a problem and ensured all beds were made up and plenty of clean towels were available. The cottage is definitely suitable for a holiday with family or a friends.
We made the mistake of not making a note of the arrival instructions, forgetting that we may not be able to get a signal on our phones to access the Internet as advised by the owners prior to arrival, but as I'd made a note of the owners' contact number we were thankfully able to phone for assistance. We'd have been in difficulty otherwise!
All in all we had a lovely stay and hope to stay at Winterfell cottage again in the not so distant future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Great to hear you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda201...
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at this beautiful cottage for a week and it had the most amazing garden (plenty of places for the youngsters to play hide and seek!) Everything was provided with quality cutlery and crockery in a well equipped kitchen. There are two double bedrooms and a smaller bedroom with bunk beds. The bathroom is modern and well equipped. The sitting /dining room is large and very homely and comfortable. It is set in a very peaceful location near to the the lake. You do need transport to take you in to Bowness and other attractions. Locally we visited Fell Foot where I was introduced to geo caching. A day at Old Hall Farm, a historic working and ice cream farm is well worth a visit and we travelled to Haverthwaite, parked the car there for £2 and took the train to Lakeside then boat to Bowness then return. On really wet days it is so relaxing to "chill out" in the lovely conservatory at the cottage or sit and have a cuppa in the kitchen watching the wildlife. (Take some bird seed) There are a few walks around the cottage and there are details of these given by the owner. We were really impressed by the cottage and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We also tried geo caching at Brockhole (they run lots of family events over the summer so do check their website if visiting) on one of those very wet days. The conservatory with a cuppa is a better bet! Please come back another time,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place from which to explore the Lake District with a family”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the most wonderful stay in Winterfell Cottage. The cottage was clean and homely and set in beautiful gardens (the azaleas and rhododendrons putting on a fabulous show).

The cottage was the perfect place to explore the Lake District with great access to Bowness-on-Windermere, Windermere and the car ferry across to Ferry House to explore the western side of Lake Windermere. A particular favourite was the proximity to the park, gardens and activities of Brockhole.

Winderfell Cottage will see that you are well rested and ready for your next Lake District adventure.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for the positive comments. So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again on your next adventure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UkSoulsis...
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After an initial hiccup where key safe number had been changed and we couldn't get in , which was quickly resolved but nonethe less frustrating after a long journey we have had a splendid week. Mirroring everyone else the garden is the absolute crowning glory in full flower and beautifully maintained. Full of birds and a veritable sun trap.
The cottage is well presented and has everything you need .Kitchen is fully supplied to self cater and has freezer / washing machine which we found most useful . Having a few games for the evening was a nice touch. To be honest everything is home from home , beds comfy and spotless throughout ! Enjoy !!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
The keysafe issue was stressful for us owners too and out of our control!!! However big apologies. Glad you enjoyed your time and though the garden is nice all year you did get one of the best weeks as all spring flowering was late this year. Hope you get to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCA2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent home from home!”
Reviewed December 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in late Oct/Nov. The cottage is large, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Being late Autumn, the weather wasn't brilliant but we all enjoyed relaxing, reading etc by the open fire which was also wonderful to come back to when we did venture out.! The cottage is the perfect base to explore the Lakes but there are also plenty of DVDs and board games provided to keep everyone happy.

The garden, even at that time of year was amazing!!! We enjoyed watching the antics of the pheasants, robins, blue tits etc whilst we sat by the large kitchen window at meal times. We look forward to returning in Spring/Summer when this large, very private garden must really come into it's own.

Communication with the owners was helpful, friendly and speedy. We definately recommend Winterfell for any time of year and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not staying longer
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Spring in the garden is special when the shrubs all come into bloom in a riot of technicolour. Please do come back then. We usually see new baby pheasants and rabbits then too...drive carefully!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing