We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid caravans A40 to A44”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Overall, very impressed. Only quibble is being squeezed in right next the entrance has a few disadvantages. If you want a peaceful break then I'd avoid these 5 caravans. You're right next to the road, and caravan A42 is right on the entrance barrier, which means that every time a car goes in or out there is an annoying beeping noise while the barrier goes up and down. On a busy day, that's every few minutes. Imagine spending your day next to a beeping pelican crossing and you get the idea. Add that to cars beeping their horns on the way out and it gets a bit irritating.Otherwise a great site just a few minutes walk from the lake and Bowness town.

Room Tip: Avoid caravans A40 to A44 (see attached photo of map)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robfall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you kindly for your review of Fallbarrow Park. We appreciate the feedback of our loyal customers so we can improve our Park in whatever way we can. I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the location of your caravan. We have had an extremely busy Easter weekend as the beautiful weather we have had has brought everyone up to this wonderful location. Unfortunately it is our only entry onto park with a vehicle and I can only apologise if this has affected your holiday in any way. In future you may ask to be allocated accommodation a little further back as we try our very hardest to adhere to any customer requests to the best we can. I do hope that this does not affect you returning to Fallbarrow Park as the location is superb and Bowness is such a wonderful town to visit. Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 789 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank You All at Fallbarrow Caravan Park, Myself, Husband, two boys aged 9 and 15 yrs and our little Jack Russell dog had a great getaway Easter Weekend. Arrived at reception and made most welcome by Shauna, which we had a gift for her, for helping us with future booking. Thank you Shauna. All staff of reception made you welcome, very friendly in the shop/deli, food is also great, we had breakfast before our long walks, beautiful walks and fantastic scenery all round. We normally go out for our tea but with having the new Chef Wayne, WOW food is Fantastic, the special's which he makes are mouth watering we did not eat anywhere else, Well done Wayne. New bar staff this Easter did very well, it was a busy Easter in the Boathouse, would just like to say Sue hope all goes well, missed your friendly face. Well done James he manages all the Boathouse Bar staff very well. The gardens were very impressive the tulips looked beautiful a credit to the garden staff, well done. Caravan was lovely and clean no problems, little problem with the boiler but the maintenance staff were there straight away to fix it. We have been coming to Fallbarrow for a number of years now and love every minute of it, we are returning again in October. Hope to see you all then. Emma and Family from Bolton, Easter Weekend 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalowepta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that our team has made a great impression on you and your family Emma.
Fallbarrow Park prides itself on its excellent customer service and our wonderful team will be delighted to hear of the great time you have had with us.
The food in the Deli / Restaurant is extra tasty indeed and our new menu is proving to be a great hit in the Restaurant. We are glad to hear your family have enjoyed both.
Stunning walks are to be had at Fallbarrow and also in Bowness, as the scenery is just beautiful. It’s such a wonderful spot that cannot be faulted in so many ways.
Here at Fallbarrow Park we aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, we are truly delighted you have had such a wonderful time and that the outlook of the park and team members have really made this to be an enjoyable stay for you and your family. It’s great that our customers keep on returning and depart with having such lovely comments to say about their holiday. Our team will be excited of your review as I will be sure to let them know how great your holiday has been with us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review Fallbarrow Park, we look forward to your return in the near future for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Where to start, great welcome on arrival to the site, good instructions on how to find the caravan. We stayed in a superior plus caravan for a week 5/04/14. This is where things went down hill, the units where the TV is situated were covered in dust and flakey bits of ash, the window cill at the end of the l shaped sofa was also covered in a thick layer of dust, the freezer had blobs of ice cream stuck to the front of the drawers, the grill door covered in grease and then to top that the 2nd and 3rd bedroom were that small that you could not even put a hand between the single beds.

I went to reception to ask if it would be possible to move and i would pay for an upgrade if necessary. I was told nothing was available, and what do I expect, it's a caravan! and they are all like that (with experience we know that's not true). The girls in reception either ignore you for a period of time before looking up, or when you ask for something it is like you have asked for their right arm ( the young lad in reception,totally different, very helpful) . As we had book days out with our two teenage boys we settled down in the caravan, then to find, that the master bedroom had a mattress that collapsed to nothing and the protector was reminiscent of an incontinent ward, it was like sleeping on a crisp packet.
After numerous visits to Fallbarrow, it now seems they are more interested in selling holiday homes and not concentrating on the holiday side of the buisness. In the past I have recommended this site for high quality, comfort, cleanliness of the accomodation and the convenience of it's location. Now I can only recommend the location. Things have now gone down hill.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you kindly for your review of your holiday with us at Fallbarrow Park.
We are glad you found the site welcoming on your arrival and found your accommodation well. However we are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have hoped it to be.
We pride ourselves on our customer service and providing the best holiday experience for all of our guests and sorry to hear that you felt our reception staff were not as helpful as you would have expected and this will be looked in to further.
We carry out stringent cleaning and procedure checks prior to the arrival of our guests, however it seems that on this occasion, your accommodation did not meet our usual high standards.
This is something that we greatly pride ourselves on and will be sure to look deeper into this matter.
Our mattress protectors are merely there for hygiene purposes and we are more than happy for our guests to remove them if deemed uncomfortable. The twin rooms are of standard size across the caravan industry and I am sorry that you felt they were not accommodating for your family.
I am disappointed to hear on this occasion you have not had a great experience but I do hope you will return again in the near future so you can see this is not a re-occurring matter.
Again I thank you for your review as without it we would be unaware of our failings and highlight areas in which we need to focus in order to improve upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at Fallbarrow on the touring part of the site
The pitches are generous and individually laid out with hedges for privacy
There are limited showers but they are very present and the shower blocks are well heated
The site is in an excellent location and it's only a couple of minutes to walk to Bowness
Excellent site
Will defiantly return
Only down side is you have to book for a minimum of 2 nights

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CoolCaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay here at Fallbarrow Holiday Park.

We are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoy hearing how our customers holiday experiences have been which enables us to evaluate , learn and improve on the services we provide here at Fallbarrow Holiday Park. We are pleased you found our touring pitches quite spacious and private as they are greatly laid out and the addional hedging makes it so much more attractive.

We are sorry to hear you found our indoor heated shower blocks limited. We have 2 sets of shower blocks and I can only imagine with Fallbarrow Park being fully booked on the Touring Site that is why you may have experienced the delay .We hope this hasn’t affected your stay with us.

We are definitely in a beautiful location right in the heart of Bowness with only a few minute’s walk to our beautiful Marina and our lovely town and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to review Fallbarrow Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Have stayed in a lodge at fallbarrow on two occasions, and will be back in August this year.
The park is located with only 2 mins walk into bowness, which has a wide variety of shops and pubs and restaurants. The lodges on the park are brilliant, very well maintained and clean and very spacious. The kitchen has all the things you need and the lounge area is very comfortable. Large veranda, but my own gripe with it is that you get a wooden picnic bench and table like the ones outside a pub. For the price you pay it should have decent outside furniture.
The bedrooms are of a good size and plenty of storage. Parking is not a issue.
The park has its own access onto lake Windermere and own jetties. Large park for the children to play in, and a well stocked shop and nice cafe.
There is a club house which is nice and does meals, also amusements, games room and a over 21 lounge. The staff are very welcoming and polite.
I would fully recommend a visit, as it is a truly amazing place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Ian0971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you greatly for your lovely review of Fallbarrow Park. We are extremely pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Fallbarrow is situated in a fabulous location which is loved by many which I’m sure you will agree with your continuous return to us.
We are glad to hear that your Lodge was of great expectation and greatly equipped whilst being very cosy and spacious also.
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the patio furniture, however we are grateful you have brought this to our attention as we would not be aware how it had impacted your stay but we can now look into this.
We have fantastic access to Lake Windermere from Fallbarrow indeed. It is also a huge advantage to our customers looking to sail on the lake or even fish. It truly is such a beautiful sight.
Fallbarrow‘s play park is greatly equipped for children of all ages and is indeed a great advantage to the park including the amenities in the main Boathouse. Our staff always aim to be the best they can be and will greatly appreciate your lovely comments.
We look forward to your visit in August and hope this holiday will be as fabulous as the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just got back from four fantastic days at Fallbarrow Park. Myself, the good lady and our grandson stayed in one of their caravans, which was spotlessly clean, and equipped with everything we needed for the duration. (Less food of course). The park is lovely and clean, family friendly, and in very short walking distance to Bowness. The staff are the most helpful and courteous we have encountered in our various stays at other campsites, and are a credit to the site. Our only problem with the caravan, was the DVD player not working on arrival, but, after mentioning it to the ever so helpful young man on reception, whose name I apologise for not getting, he had it replaced by the time we got back to the caravan that evening so our grandson could watch his films. We would highly recommend this site to anyone, and will most definately be going back again...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgethesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a wonderful informative review following your stay with your wife and grandson.

We are delighted that you had an amazing time at Fallbarrow Park, and really great to hear that you found our Caravans so greatly equipped and we take pride in the cleanliness of our caravans and will pass your comments on to the team. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with your DVD player, however it’s great to hear that our team quickly fixed it for you so your grandson could have the enjoyment of his movies in the evening when you returned.

I will pass on your delightful comments to our wonderful team members here at Fallbarrow, they will be thrilled to hear they have made your stay memorable. It is always great to hear how our customer’s holidays have been with us here and we always appreciate all feedback.

Once again can I thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor and we really look forward to your return here at Fallbarrow Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have just returned from a rather wet weekend in Bowness, nothing new to us! We stayed in Green Farm Cottage 2, three bedrooms. It is beautiful, location is excellant with all the facilities of the site if you want them. Views were rather disappointing, but we were not there to look out of the windows, but the character and decor of the cottage more than made up for it. Would highly recommend the cottage as an alternative to a caravan or lodge, as we have stayed in both. A table in the kitchen would be a nice addition, as its certainly big enough. Will definately be back, with hopefully some sunshine next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely review and it was great to hear you had such a lovely weekend and did not let the wet weather effect your stay.

It’s very unfortunate that the weather was quite wet for your arrival, it is something we have come to expect here in the lakes due to our location, however we hope on your next return that the sun does come out for you.

Thank you for your review regarding a table in The Green Farm cottage, it is certainly something we will look into and would not have picked up upon if you had not noted it, thank you again. It is a beautiful cottage within a private location with easy access to our amenities which we aim to cater for all of our customers’ needs.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and look forward to your return sometime soon hopefully with the sun shining for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,994 reviews
1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,006 reviews
2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing