We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not what expected”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not what expected”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 bed standard lodge, on arrival we were told it was the gatehouse. I asked the extremely helpful girl in reception if we could be moved as we had 2 small children with us who love to play outside and there was no way they could do that at the gatehouse. Its also in a noisy position (we visit bowness often and always see trucks unloading right next to it) she was very accommodating but could only move us to a 2 bed lodge which was fine as 2 of our party had dropped out that week anyway. However no offer of a refund for the difference was made when I asked she did check with her manager who informed us there would not be a refund as it was our decision to move lodges. Well it's a good job our party had dropped from 6 to 4 otherwise we'd have been stuck in a noisy position where the kids couldn't play out without visiting the playground.

The lodges look nothing like advertised on the website inside but are clean, warm and comfortable. I'd have to agree with some of the other reviews though that the bedrooms and bathroom are no bigger than a caravan.

The site itself is gorgeous and in such a good location. I've stayed in a 3 bed caravan here before which was great.

My advice would be to stick with a caravan booking if you can and if not check they haven't booked you into the gatehouse!!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammii36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    142
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
349
239
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed on this site for 2 night in our motor home, reception was first class. The barrier to the site was electronic operated by a key card . The pitch was hard standing with EHU & water they were also surrounded by a six foot beach hedge. The toilets were clean and warm. There is also a cafe/deli with a shop that would put my local corner shop to shame on our last morning we had a full English at the cafe which set us up for the drive home. We would def stay here again if we were back in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned here having spent a couple of nights in a touring caravan. Great location as Bowness is only a 2 minute walk away. We had a tasty breakfast in the Barn. You can have a nice walk around the site and feed the ducks/swans/geese at the water side. There is also a little park for kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireabella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to this park with my family for a long weekend, found it very well kept peaceful area with lovely views down by the lake.
The walk into the town is just 5 minutes, where there are plenty of places to eat
We did not eat in the Boathouse as it did seem a little expensive also not much choice.
It is a good base for days out, will be going again next year.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JFK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are currently staying in a Superior Caravan. We arrived yesterday afternoon and immediately went out exploring the area after a very long drive from South Wales.

Upon arrival we were welcomed and given the keys and access pass for the car barrier. With a pile up of cars and touring caravans behind us, the pass did not work. This did not start our holiday on the best foot.

After exploring and returning to the site at 7pm the reception was closed so we could not access the internet until the next morning as we needed a coupon from the reception. When we raised this issue with the receptionist the next morning it was made very clear that we were in the wrong for not raising this issue earlier. I recommended that in future it would be a good idea to make this clear upon arrival. Although meant as a piece of friendly advice to improve future services, it was not taken well and we were told “We can’t be expected to tell you everything that is in the welcome pack”. I do not wish to begin a holiday in the beautiful lake district sat indoors reading through a huge A4 file!!

Another problem on our arrival was noticing that some of the cutlery and crockery was still dirty from the previous tenants. We had a ‘Clean All’ card which identified it had been cleaned and checked by two different people and yet the uncleanliness was not picked up by either persons.

I am happy to say that there was no infant or elderly persons in our party as when we showered yesterday evening the shower was beyond scalding hot. The temperature gauge on the shower did not work at all and myself and partner had to persist with either being scalded or freezing cold as there was no in-between. This could have been potentially VERY harmful to a small child left to shower! I raise this issue more so for the next family that arrives here.

When we raised these issues we felt as though the fault was being deflected onto us for not reporting sooner or reading the brochure fully rather than accepting any responsibility at all. We were also informed that “due to the size of the park, everything is not going to work as it should all of the time”. I do feel a part of this was due to our relative youth and were not treated as adults. Bearing in mind we are both in our late twenties and have management positions within hospitality trade ourselves.

This has been one thing after another which has tarnished our stay so far and left a very bitter taste in our mouths. I will not be recommending this to any of my family or friends. Especially my father who was looking to stay here next year for 6 weeks in his touring caravan. This was supposed to be a break away from a very traumatic time in our lives and was booked by my father as a gift.

At the current time we are looking forward to check out on Friday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DF011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our clients is vital to us and we sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Fallbarrow Park. As you will see from other reviews, Fallbarrow is a very popular and highly recommended holiday park. We are aware from time to time that issues do arise which we aim to rectify as soon as we are made aware of them but if we fell short on this occasion, we again, apologise. Providing the best possible holiday experience is something we strive to achieve and we do hope that this isolated incident would not deter you from visiting us again.

If you would like to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Manager directly on 015395 69835 and she will be happy to make the necessary arrangements for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stay here on a regular basis in a lodge on the glade,excellent location we never use the car once it's parked up.food good in boathouse but staff can be quite rude,we have a 3 yr old who likes to go on the park but this time wasn't possible due to older kids just hanging around in there on the equipment using language I don't want my little boy to hear,when I asked them to stop you can imagine the replies I got.maybe staff need to monitor this area bit more. not a pleasant experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. These are comments that we will take on board and the Park Management will be made aware of your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fallbarrow in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are just back from a week in a superior plus caravan. The van itself was lovely with everything you need. As someone else had reviewed the prices in the shop on sight was very reasonable with a good supply of essentials.
The park is ideally situated for walking into town -5 mins - and the town itself is a lovely place to spend the day.

The only negative was some of the caravans and lodges are up quite steep hills so its worth checking before you go. A really enjoyable holiday and we definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Property: Fallbarrow Park
Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing