We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we go every year”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We book to rent these lodges every year. We book x2 superior lodges every nov/dec and we use all 6 rooms, We book a friday to monday visit and it is just enough to have a good weekens, Day 1 you gets sorted day 2 the men play golf at windermere and day three we all go on a trip somewhere as there is loads in the area. Us fellas like this site as it is luxuary accomadtion and a 5 min walk from all the pubs and resurants. Even in the winter time it provides warm rooms with bathrooms and double glasing. ideal for all the family no matter the age group, The chrismas light turn on weekend is good as it has a parade and a general chrismassy feel to it.

Room Tip: book the top one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoddy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed hear for years it's location is fabulous and so easy for walking into bowness the park is clean and staff are very friendly the accommodation is clean the food in the pub is average but freshly cooked and hot. The barn cafe is good again food freshly cooked and hot for the first time in a cafe I got a bacon bun exactly how I asked for crispy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a lovley little caravan site. fantastic location and a short walk from the local town. plenty of local cafes, pubs, restaraunts, attractions and shops around. Windermere is stunning and the site is situated on the lakeside. We don't have kids so I cannot comment on facilities for them but I know there is no pool and to be honest there didn't look like much to do for children. However, I think there are other parks nearby with the same owners where you can use the facilities for free. The caravan we stayed in was ample. Everything you need (including wifi) I think parking may be an issue for some. We had our own parking space but the lady with whom I booked informed me that not all caravans have their own parking space (something I have never came across when staying in caravan sites)

The site itself is lovley. Lots of little flower beds etc and very well kept and well maintained.

We had a couple of drinks here and there in the on site bar (The Boathouse I think it was called) However, I felt the staff in here were a little abrupt. We tried to have dinner one night and were told food doesn't start until 5pm (fair enough, but were told kinda sharply) we were late getting back to the site one night and were again told very sharply that food finishes at 9! the final time we tried to have dinner here, there was a few things off the menu including one of the only things I would have liked (vegetarian) Ach maybe I'm being sensitive, but I sometimes got the feeling we weren't wanted in there! However, there are many places to eat nearby within walking distance so no big deal.

No cash machine on site either which was a bit of a pain.

But all in all, a great little site. The little niggles I have certainly wouldn't put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in a superior caravan. We normally take our tourer but thought we would give the caravans on location a try. We booked 2 adults, 1 child and 1 baby. We were given a caravan difficult to get to with a pram. It is also located in the trees. Very muddy with little daylight. On arrival the glasses were filthy and one had lipstick on it. The cooker was covered on grease and the plates were wet and still dirty. We complained and it was sorted out but very disappointing. I moved the single beds together last night for my daughter and underneath the beds was rubbish and hair grips. This van is obviously not getting cleaned properly. The shower head fixture is also broken. We cannot shower without holding the shower. Not good. We're making the best of it but would i spend good money to sit in the dark in dirty surroundings again?? No thanks!!


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally079000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you had problems with cleanliness in the caravan that you were allocated. Cleaning issues are something that we strive very hard to avoid and if we fell short on this occasion, we apologise. All your comments have been taken on board and passed to the Management and Housekeeping Teams at Fallbarrow.

We sincerely hope that this isolated incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've been lucky enough to spend another wonderful week at Fallbarrow Park, beautiful location right on the lake... On site facilities are excellent and the staff have made our stay even more perfect, a big thank you especially to Sue our favourite bar lady, James an excellent bar manager and entertainer and not forgetting Adam the chef.. Thank you we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJH2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in a 3 bedroom superior plus caravan at Fallbarrow with our 12 year old daughter and her friend. It is a lovely quiet park on Lake Windermere and has some nice facilities , The Boathouse Bar, The Barn Cafe and deli and a lovely play area. The caravan was very new and was very clean. Although you are in Bowness, the park is really quiet and the views from the lake side are amazing. The staff were friendly and it had a very nice atmosphere. We will return at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolRockyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just had a couple of days on a touring pitch in my daughters motorhome. The pitch was a great size and with the trees around it made it private. The park was right next to our pitch which was good as our 8 year old could play there and we could hear him on the park,( him having a loud voice comes in handy sometimes).
This site is well maintained and although there were only 3 toilets and 2 showers we never had to wait to use them. We had a boat stored in the private boat park which again was right behind our pitch, very handy being able to launch it from the site, great.
it is just a very short walk into town which is great as no parking problems. Really close to the entrance of the site there is a fish and chip shop called seafarers and i would recommend it to anyone, great service and the best chips i ever had and i tried a battered sausage and loved it, reasonable prices too .
All in all it is a great place to stay and i am sure it will not be the last time we shall be staying here.

Room Tip: Pitch 40 is a great location if you got kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing